About the Journal

The American Review of Politics has ceased publication and is no longer accepting submissions. The University of Oklahoma Libraries will continue to host all articles previously published in the journal and DOIs for all articles will continue to remain active.

Focus and Scope

The American Review of Politics publishes original research on American politics and the American political process.  The primary focus of the journal is on American political development, Southern Politics, early American political thought, constitutional development, representation, and party politics. Papers on any area of American politics will be considered. 

The journal also offers an extensive book review section and considers review essays on recently published, thematically-related books.

We will continue to publish work from the Citadel Symposium and intend to make the journal a strong and visible home for the study of Southern Politics. 

Peer Review Process

The American Review of Politics utilizes a rigorous double-blind peer-review process for all original research articles submitted for consideration.  Manuscripts are also initially desk reviewed before being subject to peer review.

Manuscripts not meeting submission guidelines, or which are not consistent with the focus of the journal, or which are not deemed up to the professional standards of the journal will be returned to the author without further review.

Authors submitting papers for review will be expected to act as peer reviewers for the journal on three other manuscripts, in order to contribute to creating the public good of scholarly research dissemination.

Publication Frequency

The American Review of Politics has ceased publication and is no longer accepting submissions. The University of Oklahoma Libraries will continue to host all articles previously published in the journal and DOIs for all articles will continue to remain active.

The American Review of Politics published two issues per calendar year, with occasional special issues.

Open Access Policy

This journal publishes two regular issues a year at which time the articles for that issue become available. We do not provide “early view” articles but will provide proofs to authors before publication as needed, e.g. for tenure and promotion files.

By “open access” to peer-reviewed research literature, we mean its free availability on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without financial, legal, or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself. The only constraint on reproduction and distribution, and the only role for copyright in this domain, should be to give authors control over the integrity of their work and the right to be properly acknowledged and cited.

Researchers engage in discovery for the public good, yet because of cost barriers or use restrictions imposed by other publishers, research results are not available to the full community of potential users. It is our mission to support a greater global exchange of knowledge by making the research published in this journal open to the public and reusable under the terms of a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-SA license.

Furthermore, we encourage authors to post their pre-publication manuscript in institutional repositories or on their Web sites prior to and during the submission process, and to post the Publisher’s final formatted PDF version after publication. These practices benefit authors with productive exchanges as well as earlier and greater citation of published work.

There are no article processing charges, submissions fees, or any other costs required of authors to submit articles to this journal.


Editorial Board

Richard L. Engstrom, Center for the Study of Race, Ethnicity, and Gender in the Social Sciences, Duke University
Charles J. Barrilleaux, Florida State University
Harold F. Bass, Ouachita Baptist University
John F. Bibby, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Paul Brace, Rice University
Charles S. Bullock, III University of Georgia
Allan J. Cigler, University of Kansas

Gary W. Copeland, University of Oklahoma 

William Crotty, Northeastern University
Robert E. Darcy, Oklahoma State University
George C. Edwards, III Texas A&M University
Ronald A. Faucheux, Campaigns & Elections Magazine
Frank B. Feigert, University of North Texas
Luis Ricardo Fraga, University of Washington
R. Keith Gaddie, University of Oklahoma 

James L. Gibson, Washington University, St. Louis
Micheal W. Giles, Emory University
Sheldon Goldman, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Melinda Gann Hall, Michigan State University
Paul S. Herrnson, University of Maryland, College Park

Patricia A. Hurley, Texas A&M University 

John S. Jackson, III Southern Illinois University
Jan E. Leighley, University of Arizona 

Thomas Longoria, Jr. Texas State University 

Susan A. MacManus, University of South Florida 

L. Sandy Maisel, Colby College
Thomas E. Mann, The Brookings Institution
Thomas R. Marshall, University of Texas, Arlington

Michael D. Martinez, University of Florida 

David R. Mayhew, Yale University 

Paula D. McClain, Duke University 

Michael D. McDonald, State University of New York, Binghamton 

Penny Miller, University of Kentucky
Will Miller, University of Illinois at Springfield 

Karen O’Connor, The American University 

Bruce I. Oppenheimer, Vanderbilt University 

Huey L. Perry, Southern University 

Charles Prysby, University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Arlene W. Saxonhouse, University of Michigan

Todd G. Shields, University of Arkansas 

Stephen D. Shaffer, Mississippi State University
Harold W. Stanley, Southern Methodist University 

Joseph Stewart, Jr., Clemson University 

James A. Stimson, University of North Carolina
Carol M. Swain, Vanderbilt University


University of Oklahoma

Department of Political Science

Journal History

The American Review of Politics began publication as the Arkansas Political Science Journal in 1980, published by the Arkansas Political Science Association.  In 1988 the name was changed to the Midsouth Political Science Journal, published by the University of Central Arkansas Press.  In 1993 the journal was again retitled as the American Review of Politics, and was affiliated with the Political Organizations and Parties section of the American Political Science Association.

Previous editors of the American Review of Politics include
Brinck Kerr (University of Arkansas), Gary D. Wekkin (University of Central Arkansas), Charles Hadley (University of New Orleans), John C. Green (University of Akron), and Andrew Dowdle (University of Arkansas).

The journal was acquired by Keith Gaddie in 2013 and converted to an open access journal hosted by the University of Oklahoma. The journal continues as a double-blind peer reviewed article under the editorship of Scott E. Buchanan (The Citadel), Keith Gaddie (The University of Oklahoma), and Justin J. Wert (The University of Oklahoma).