THE MIDSOUTH POLITICAL SCIENCE JOURNAL (ISSN 1051-5054)

Editors

Gary D. Wekkin, University of Central Arkansas
Michael A. Maggiotto, Bowling Green State University
Book Reviews: Conrad P.Waligorski, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Editorial Board

David N. Atkinson

University of Missouri, Kansas City

Harold F. Bass, II

Ouachita Baptist University

Robert A. Bernstein

Auburn University

Leonard Cardenas, II

Southwest Texas State University

Diane D. Blair

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Gary W. Copeland

University of Oklahoma

Robert E. Dewhirst

Northwest Missouri State University

Charles DeWitt Dunn

Henderson State University

Mark C. Ellickson

Southwest Missouri State University

Robert E. England

Oklahoma State University

Arthur English

University of Arkansas, Little Rock

David H. Everson

Sangamon State University

Frank A. Feigert

University of North Texas

James D. Gingerich

Arkansas Courts Administrator

Daniel R. Grant

Ouachita Baptist University

Rodney A. Grunes

Centenary College

Don F. Hadwiger

Iowa State University

Norman Hodges, II

Arkansas Claims Commission

Patricia A. Hurley

Texas A&M University

Ronald John Hy

University of Arkansas, Little Rock

John S. Jackson, III

Southern Illinois University

Donald R. Kelley

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Michael A. Kelley

University of Central Arkansas

James D. King

Memphis State University

C. Jeddy LeVar

Henderson State University

F. David Levenbach

Arkansas State University

Michael A. Maggiotto

Bowling Green State University

Thomas R. Marshall

University of Texas, Arlington

Philip J. Meeks

St. Mary's University

Julius Nyang'oro

University of North Carolina

Marcus D. Pohlmann

Rhodes College

Richard B. Riley

Baylor University

Robert L. Savage

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Margaret Scranton

University of Arkansas, Little Rock

Steven A. Shull

University of New Orleans

G. Ross Stephens

University of Missouri, Kansas City

Mary E. Stuckey

University of Mississippi

R. Lawson Veasey

University of Central Arkansas

Stanley Vanagunas

Arkansas State University

Jan P. Vermeer

Nebraska Wesleyan University

Conrad P. Waligorski

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Mark J. Wattier

Murray State University

Charles W. Wiggins

Texas A&M University

W. Martin Wiseman

Mississippi State University

Jerome E. Young University of Arkansas, Monticello

THE MIDSOUTH POLITICAL SCIENCE JOURNAL

Volume 13

Autumn, 1992

CONTENTS

Contributors		283
Prescriptive Committee Seats in Congress	Charles S. Bullock III David England	285
Socrates' Poetic Transformation of Odysseus	Nicholas Janszen	309
Election Marginality, District Homogeneity, and Policy Responsiveness	Brad Lockerbie	341
Elections and the Responsiveness of Incumbents A Reaction to Lockerbie	s: Robert A. Bernstein	355
A Response to Bernstein	Brad Lockerbie	361
Research Note: U.S. Senate Elections and Newspaper Competition	Jan Vermeer	363
Book Reviews		369

Instructions to Contributors. Manuscripts should conform to the APSA STYLE MANUAL, should not exceed 40 pages in length, and should be accompanied by an abstract. Send four copies of the manuscript, three of which have all identifying references deleted, to Editor, Midsouth Political Science Journal, Dept. of Political Science, University of Central Arkansas, Conway AR 72035. Research manuscripts and review essays pertinent to all field of political science are welcome.

Subscription Information. Subscription rates are \$15.00 p.a. for individuals, \$25.00 p.a. for institutions. Subscriptions may be obtained by writing to Marlene LeDuc, MPSJ Financial Officer, Dept. of Political Science, University of Central Arkansas, Conway AR 72035. Complete sets of back issues on microfiche may be obtained from the same address for \$20.00.

Indexing. The Midsouth Political Science Journal is indexed in the PAIS Bulletin and in the IBZ International Bibliography of Periodical Literature as well as IBR International Bibliography of Book Reviews. Arrangements for additional indexing are being made.

The Midsouth Political Science Journal is a multi-issue journal of political science published at the University of Central Arkansas Press. Formerly the Arkansas Political Science Journal, the Midsouth Political Science Journal was created by the Arkansas Political Science Association in 1988.

Arkansas Political Science Association Officers, 1991-92

President: John N. Short, University of Arkansas, Monticello Vice President: Arthur English, University of Arkansas, Little Rock

Secretary-Treasurer: C. Jeddy LeVar, Henderson State University

Past President:

Program Chair:

Steven M. Neuse, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Mary Susan Power, Arkansas State University, Jonesboro

Sherry Dahlstrom, University of Arkansas, Little Rock

Douglas Reed, Ouachita Baptist University

Daryl H. Rice, University of Arkansas, Little Rock
Jeffrey J. Ryan, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

The Editors wish to thank the University of Central Arkansas, in particular President Winfred L. Thompson, Vice President J. William Berry, and Dean James S. Dombek, for unstinting support of the *Midsouth Political Science Journal*. The support of Michael A. Kelley, Chair, and of the members and staff of the UCA Department of Political Science, is also invaluable.

Contributors

Robert A. Bernstein (Ph.D., Cornell University, 1970) is Associate Professor of Political Science at Auburn University. He has published books in the areas of congressional politics and methodology, and his articles have appeared in numerous journals, including the American Political Science Review, the American Politics Quarterly, the Legislative Studies Quarterly, and the Western Political Quarterly.

Charles S. Bullock, III (Ph.D., Washington University, 1968) is the Richard B. Russell Professor of Political Science at the University of Georgia, and has served as president of the Southern Political Science Association. He has authored several books in the areas of civil rights and public policy, and has published articles in numerous journals, including the American Political Science Review, the Journal of Politics, the American Journal of Political Science, and the Midsouth Political Science Journal.

David E. England (Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1987) is Associate Professor of Political Science at Arkansas State University. He has published in the areas of congressional politics and criminal justice in journals such as the American Journal of Political Science, the Journal of Criminal Justice, and the Midsouth Political Science Journal.

Nicholas Janszen (ABD, University of Dallas) is Assistant Professor of Political Science at Felician College in Lodi, New Jersey. In addition to completing his dissertation exploring Plato's use of Homer in *The Republic*, he is exploring the use of literature as a medium for the study of politics.

Brad Lockerbie (Ph.D., University of Iowa, 1988) is Assistant Professor of Political Science at the University of Georgia. He has published articles on political behavior in several journals, including the British Journal of Political Science, Public Choice, the American Politics Quarterly, and the Public Opinion Quarterly, and is a contributor to Electoral Change: Responses to Evolving Social and Attitudinal Structures in Western Countries.

Jan P. Vermeer (Ph.D., Princeton University, 1979) is Professor of Political Science at Nebraska Wesleyan University. His specialty is media politics. He is the author of "For Immediate Release" (Greenwood, 1982), the editor of Campaigns in the News (Greenwood, 1987), and has a reader on media and politics (In Media Res) forthcoming at McGraw-Hill.