Contents

	Patrons	vi
Gene E. Bigler	The Development of Arkansas' International Trade: Problems and Progress	1
Robert Johnston and Dan Durning	The Arkansas Governor's Role in the Policy Process, 1955-1979	16
Kenneth D. Bailey and Diane Kincaid Blair	Present and Future Impact of Working/Non-Working Mothers on the Development of Political Orientations in Boys and Girls in Arkansas	40
Charles Chastain	The Effect of Jury Experience on Jury Verdicts	62

ARKANSAS POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

Executive Board

President: CAL LEDBETTER, JR., University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Vice President and President-Elect: JIM MEGGINSON, Garland County Community College. Secretary-Treasurer. WALTER NUNN, Auditor of State's Office. Immediate Past President: CHARLES HARTWIG, Arkansas State University. At-Large Members: GENE GOSS, Arkansas Oil Marketers Association. SIMMS McCLINTOCK, University of Central Arkansas. KURT TWERASER, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. JAMES WILLIS, Southern Arkansas University.

Past Presidents

ROBERT McCHESNEY, University of Central Arkansas. PETER KIDMAN, Arkansas State University. JOEL ANDERSON, University of Arkansas at Little Rock. CHARLES DUNN, University of Central Arkansas. CAROLYN ZINN, Arkansas State University. ROBERT SAVAGE, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. CHARLES HARTWIG, Arkansas State University.

ARKANSAS POLITICAL SCIENCE JOURNAL

Editorial Board

Editor. JOEL ANDERSON, University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Business Manager. WALTER NUNN, Auditor of State's Office. CHARLES DUNN, University of Central Arkansas. KAY GOSS, Auditor of State's Office. DANIEL GRANT, Ouachita Baptist University. CONRAD WALIGORSKI, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.

Communications

Editorial communications should be sent to the Editor in care of the UALR Graduate School, 33rd and University, Little Rock, AR 72204. Requests for single copies, \$5.00 each, plus \$1.00 for mailing charge, should be sent to the Business Manager in care of Rose Publishing Company, 301 South Louisiana, Little Rock, AR 72201.

Manuscripts

Manuscripts submitted for consideration should be typed on standard typewriter paper and double-spaced throughout. Notes should appear at the end of the manuscript and also be double-spaced. Tables and illustrations should appear on separate sheets, one per sheet, with notes in the manuscript to indicate preferred placement. Manuscripts will be evaluated anonymously by appropriate referees. Four copies should be presented.

The Arkansas Political Science Journal is published by the Arkansas Political Science Association. Views expressed are those of the authors, not of the Association.

Front cover by Lori Lohstoeter. Editorial assistance by Jeanie Flake.

Patrons

The costs of publishing a scholarly journal are extraordinary. The Arkansas Political Science Association expresses deep gratitude to the civic-minded leaders listed here whose contributions of \$100 each have helped make this issue possible.

Al Pollard and Associates Little Rock

Arkansas Gazette Foundation Little Rock

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Company Little Rock

Fred I. Brown, Jr. Little Rock

First National Bank Little Rock

Frank Lyon Little Rock

Tyson Foundation, Inc.*
Springdale

Union National Bank Little Rock

C. Randolph Warner, Jr. Little Rock

Frank L. Whitbeck Little Rock

*\$200

The Arkansas Political Science Association is a non-profit educational association. Contributions in support of the Journal should be mailed to the Secretary-Treasurer, c/o Rose Publishing Company, 301 South Louisiana, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201.