

David Logan presented Lee B. Thompson a plaque which dedicates Dining Rooms 1 and 2 to the Honored Alumni Club.



"The deep strength of the American student is derived from the strength of the university," stated Sharp in his speech to the HAC.



Lenore Connolly, center, and Frank Cleckler, far right, renew old friendships with members attending the Saturday evening event.



At the head table, seated left to right, were Mr. and Mrs. Jack Luttrell and Mr. and Mrs. Lee B. Thompson.

A TIME FOR MEMORIES REUNION '72

Reunion weekend May 13-14, 1972, was a gala event for the class of 1922 and the Honored Alumni Club, comprised of those who graduated 50 or more years ago.

Final festivities of the weekend, held Saturday evening, included Don Walker's annual hospitality hour, a banquet, a speech by President Sharp and induction of the class of 1922 into the HAC. Added this year was the formal dedication of Dining Rooms 1 and 2.

Funds for the renovation of the dining rooms were made possible by the Honored Alumni Club Endowment Fund which was established at the fifty year reunion of the class of 1920. The actual drive began with the class of 1921, and they agreed to use the money for something which they would see and which also would serve the public.

The rooms which have been named the Honored Alumni Club Rooms 1 and 2 were the first project of the HAC Endowment Fund. At a cost of \$11,000 raised through contributions, new carpet, drapes, parquet floors, paint, chandeliers and recovered chairs were included in the renovation. Future endowments will help finish paying for this project and furnish funds for further projects.

At the dinner a plaque dedicating the rooms was presented by David Logan, past president of the HAC, to Lee B. Thompson, chairman of the Union Board of Governors. Upon acceptance of the plaque, Thompson told the HAC members, "Our job is to serve the students of this campus, and when we cease to do so, our reason for existence vanishes."

Attending the reunion from the class of 1922 were: Russell Cooper, T. J. Woodmansee, Mr. and Mrs. Bryan Griffin, Wallace E. Robertson, Esther M. McRue, W. Fred Thompson, Myrtle Kellerhals, Stella Dean, Fisher Muldrow, Frank T. Clark, Roy E. Swatek, Mr. and Mrs. Robert L. Tucker, Philip Ashby, Dorrance Roderick, Lucy Lawton Johnston, Mrs. Hartwell Hill, and Mrs. H. H. Herbert.



Alumni had a chance to visit with Dr. Joe Marshburn, right, David Ross Boyd professor of English, during the dinner.



Mr. T. J. Woodmansee received his Golden Diploma and was welcomed into the HAC by David Dollarhide, field director, Alumni Association. Woodmansee was seated with Dr. and Mrs. Loyd Harris. Harris is former dean of the College of Pharmacy.



Mrs. Flora M. Tucker received her Golden Diploma and was welcomed as a member of the HAC by Jack Ledbetter, field director, Alumni Association.



Every graduate of the class of 1922 received a Golden Diploma recognizing his 50 years as an alumnus and many years of service to the University of Oklahoma.