A Letter from The Publisher



Five years ago the University of Oklahoma Foundation went into the publishing business in a small way with *Priority*, a newsletter for OU's private benefactors. We discovered quickly that our friends were eager to read more about the University, its people and programs, its serious purposes and its lighter moments as well. For nearly 50 years, this sort of communication had been the job of the alumni association's *Sooner Magazine*, but *Sooner Magazine* was dead. We began planning a quarterly publication to fill the gap.

Far from resenting the Foundation's publishing intentions, OU alumni leaders were enthusiastic and suggested adoption of the traditional *Sooner Magazine* name, with the hope that the Foundation might mail to alumni association life members as well as to private donors. OU's President William S. Banowsky also expressed approval of a quality magazine to be published by an independently incorporated agency dedicated to the advancement of the University.

The Foundation does not offer *Sooner Magazine* as a propaganda vehicle. The Foundation is in the business of helping the University achieve its lofty ambitions through a vigorous program of private support. We believe the University's programs can stand on their own merits. We believe that our friends share our pride in our accomplishments and want to help us with our problems.

Sooner Magazine's purpose is to be constructive, not controversial. Yet you may not — and I may not — always agree with the opinions or analyses appearing in Sooner Magazine. We hope you will feel free to comment either way. Nothing could be more in keeping with the spirit of a university.

Executive Director

THE UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA FOUNDATION, INC.

Walter Neustadt, Jr., chairman
H. O. Harder, vice chairman
T. R. Benedum, vice chairman
Ron D. Burton, executive director/secretary
Ron C. Winkler, treasurer
R. Boyd Gunning, director-emeritus
Trustees: Harold Belknap, H. O. Harder,
James Harlow, Gordon Hillhouse, C. D.
McDoulett, Jr., Gerald Marshall, Walter
Neustadt, Ed Oppenheim, Charles Storms,
Sam Viersen, V C Bratton, H. K. Calvert, G.

L. Cross, Charles Engleman, Verlan Harrell, John M. Houchin, Savoie Lottinville, Jack Maurer, Elizabeth Merrick Coe, Ellen Rowe Phillips, Jack Abernathy, Paul F. Sharp, T. R. Benedum, Frank A. Schultz, S. N. Goldman, Roy Guffey, Bill Jennings, John F. Y. Stambaugh, John H. Patten, Dale Mitchell. Honorary Trustees: Herbert Branan, W. R. Goddard, W. Dow Hamm, Donald S. Kennedy, Kenneth McAfee, Paul D. Barton, Ward S. Merrick, Jr., W. D. Owsley, Leonard Savage, Wallace C. Thompson, C. A. Vose. Ex-officio Trustees: William S. Banowsky, Ron D. Burton.