## The Alumni and Friends

RIGHT: Centennial chairman Donna Murphy, center, welcomes Associates Molly and Jim Crawley, left, and Betty Ann and Charles Graybill, to the 100th Anniversary Dinner.

he black tie celebration dinner on May 11 in Oklahoma City's Myriad Convention Center suffered no shortage of honorees among the 800 in attendance. This festive Commencement Eve gathering was a time for congratulations all around.

The University had entered the Centennial year with a new president, Richard L. Van Horn, and his investiture was only hours away. Likewise being honored were the recipients of the University's Distinguished Service Citations: W. R. Howell, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of J. C. Penney Company, Inc.; James G. Harlow Jr., chairman of the board and president of Oklahoma Gas and Electric Company; U.S. Senator David L. Boren; and former OU President William S. Banowsky, now executive vice president and director of National Medical Enterprises.

Special recognition also was made of the other groups composing the audience: past DSC recipients, the OU Associates and other major donors to the University and members of the Centennial Commission. But the photo opportunity of the evening came when the five surviving presidents of the University gathered in front of the head table to receive the homage of the crowd. Present were George Lynn Cross, Paul F. Sharp, Banowsky, Frank L. Horton and Van Horn—truly a Centennial moment.



Of the thousands of photographs taken during the Centennial Celebration, this gathering of the five living University of Oklahoma presidents had the greatest historic significance. From left at the May 11 dinner are George L. Cross, 1943-68; Paul F. Sharp, 1971-78; William S. Banowsky, 1978-85; Frank E. Horton, 1985-88; and Richard L. Van Horn, 1989-present.

## 1990 ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION DINNER