One year

ANNIVERSARIES

DEAN FREDRIK HOLMBERG, twenty-fifth year as director (and founder) of the Oklahoma City Symphony orchestra.

BEN G. OWEN, twenty-fifth year as coach, director of athletics, and inspiring genius of Oklahoma sportsmanship.

JOSEPH FRANCIS PAXTON, thirty-fourth year as a member of the university faculty.

JAMES WELLINGS STURGIS, thirtieth year as professor of Latin.

Roy GITTINGER, '02 arts-sc., twentyeighth year as professor, dean and adviser of students.

DATES

February 21-22. Oklahoma's great new library building dedicated. Speakers included Henry Seidel Canby, J. Q. Adams, Frank K. Walter, Edwin Mims, Milton J. Ferguson, and Carl Milam.

March 20. James Shannon Buchanan, professor, dean, vice-president and president of the university, most beloved Sooner faculty member, died. He had been a member of the faculty continuously for thirty-five years.

April 3. The Playhouse presented the first completely "made in Oklahoma" play—written, produced and published in Oklahoma—*A Certain Young Widow* by John Woodworth, '28.

April 8. Sigma Xi installed a chapter at the University of Oklahoma.

May 8. Anna Lewis of the Oklahoma College for Women successfully passed the examination for a doctor of philosophy degree, the second ever given by the university.

June 3. Thirty-seventh annual commencement of the university held with President George H. Denny of the University of Alabama as speaker.

September 15. University of Oklahoma Press elected to membership in the National Association of Book Publishers. September 22. Class work began for the thirty-eighth academic year.

October 10. Beta Eta chapter of Kappa Alpha celebrated its twenty-fifth anniversary with George B. "Deak" Parker, Walter Ferguson and other distinguished alumni as visitors and speakers.

GIFTS

Aldrich Blake of Oklahoma City, oil man and investor, gave \$10,000 to *Books Abroad*, famous quarterly review of foreign-language literature founded and edited by Dr Roy Temple House.

The Carnegie corporation gave to the school of art an art collection (including some originals of Rembrandt and others) valued at \$6,000, but of incalculably greater value to the university and Oklahoma.

The Julius Rosenthal Foundation awarded \$13,725 to the Extension Service Foundation of the university, to develop a part-pay dental program in Oklahoma.

Angarola's "Frosty Morning" given to the art school by Art Association of El Modjii.

Fifty-seven volumes, a memorial to William Howard Taft, presented the university by Yale University Press and Williamstown Institute of Politics Publications.

The Oklahoma State Medical Society loaned the extension division of the university three motion picture films to inaugurate a new service to county medical societies, setting a precedent for other states.

PERSONS

WALTER S. CAMPBELL (Stanley Vestal), professor and author, awarded a Guggenheim fellowship, to complete life of Sitting Bull.

DAVID Ross BOYD, first president of the university and later president of the University of New Mexico, made first president emeritus of the university. MAURICE HALPERIN, M. A. '29, instructor in French, awarded the American field service fellowship of \$2,000 for work at the Sorbonne.

PROFESSOR R. J. DANGERFIELD of the school of citizenship and public affairs, a Spellman-Rockefeller foundation scholarship of \$3,600.

PROFESSOR JACK T. SALTER of the school of citizenship and public affairs, a \$3,700 fellowship by the Social Science Research council.

ELGIN E. GROSECLOSE, '20 arts-sc., of New York City, became an associate editor of *Fortune*.

HARRY MORELAND, ex '20, became president and general manager of the Great Lakes Pipe Line Co.

E. H. SKINNER, '23 arts-sc., became general manager of the Continental Pipe Line Co.

CHARLES D. MAHAFFIE, '05 Kingfisher, was appointed by President Hoover to be a member of the interstate commerce commission.

SAVOIE LOTTINVILLE, '29 journ., represented Oxford against Cambridge in boxing.

EDWIN F. MINTEER, '12 arts-sc., was named editor of the Fort Worth Press.

R. W. HUTTO, '10 arts-sc., named president of the Security National bank of Norman.

LEE B. THOMPSON, '25 arts-sc., '27 law, of Oklahoma City, named a national director of the junior chamber of commerce.

JIMMY HAIZLIP, ex '28, of St. Louis, won the first speed event at the Chicago air shows and other prizes.

MISS JESSIE NEWBY, '10 arts-sc., of Oklahoma City, named head of the Latin department of Central State Teachers college at Edmond.

ROLAND L. BECK, M. A. '26, named head of the department of education of Union university, Jackson, Tennessee.

DR R. A. MORTER, '13 med., named superintendent of the Kalamazoo state hospital, Kalamazoo, Michigan.

LYNN RIGGS, ex '22, for his play Green Grow the Lilacs, scheduled for Broadway production by the Theater Guild December 15.