Their hour of glory

THE close of the fortieth year of the University of Oklahoma was in many respects one of the most stirring commencements. A bird's-eye view:

1. Nine hundred and twenty seven degrees were conferred by President William Bennett Bizzell—more than twice the number granted by any other Oklahoma college or university;

2. The University of Oklahoma Association elected Chester H. Westfall, '16 arts-sc., of Ponca City, president;

3. The Association at its annual meeting approved certain fundamental changes in the constitution of the Association:

4. The annual meeting also approved plans for an Oklahoma Day next year, which is planned to be an annual gettogether of all alumni on a certain day;

5. Regent President George Bowman bespoke to alumni the continued interest of the board of regents in the preservation of as much of the forward-program of the university as the welfare of the state permits.

6. The board of regents approved the

president's program;

7. The classes of '07 and '12 met in annual reunion Monday, June 6, the law class of 1922 met as 'did the Kingfisher college alumni members of the Association.

The new alumni

Seniors and graduate students had their hour of glory Tuesday morning, June 7, at the fortieth annual commencement services of the University of Oklahoma.

They sweltered into the fieldhouse, preceded by the faculty in academic costume, where more than three thousand relatives and friends sat to applaud. The graduates filled completely the central section of the fieldhouse. A blistering June Oklahoma sun bringing up the temperature to 89.8 degrees, beat down on the thin roof of the fieldhouse, soon bringing perspiration to professors, graduates and onlookers.

Nine hundred and twenty seven degrees were conferred. Three were those of doctor of philosophy. The new doctors are:

ROLAND LYCURGUS BECK, M. A., '26, graduate of Oklahoma Baptist university, class of '23, in education;

Daniel Webster Emerson, '17 artssc., M. S. '26, in education;

Pearl Isabelle Webb Johnson, M. A. '18, a graduate of Valparaiso university, class of '14, in education.

Forty seven candidates were granted the degree of doctor of medicine and when Dean Moorman called for his new servants of humanity to stand, the class received a burst of applause from the audience.

The new doctors of medicine follow:

George Thomas Allen, Charles Victor Atherton, Clifton Udonna Boon, Isidore Ira Brown, Claud E. Carter, Matt A. Connell, Byron J. Cordonnier, Arlo Kenneth Cox, Raymond E. Daily, Arthur David Danielson, Joe L. Duer. George Randle Felts, Shirley Anthony Fuhring, Raymond Carl Gentry, Allen Gilbert Gibbs, James Orth Gilliland, Ennis Murray Gullatt, James L. Haddock, Ralph Waldo Hubbard, Wayne McKinley Hull, J. Hugh Humphrey. George Samuel Irvine, Frank M. Keen, John Henderson Lamb, Silas Archie Lang, Frank Cornwell Lattimore, Charles Edward Leonard, Russell Weller Lewis, Leonard Long, Ralph Leon Marx, Estel B. McCollum, George Seanor Mechling, John Joel Monfort, William Henry Newlin, Ralph Gunther Obermiller, Dwight Dillon Pierson, Tillman A. Ragan, Joseph Anton Rieger, David Allen Roberts, Herman William Roth, Vester M. Rutherford, Addison B. Smith, Raymond O. Smith, Richard Wendal Doop Smith, Russell Holland Walker, Arthur Eugene White, John Milton Wilkerson.

Although nearly a thousand persons received degrees, the whole procession marched over the platform in an hour. Dr. Guy Y. Williams, '06 arts-sc., assisted by Dr. Leonard Logan, '14 arts-sc., and Prof. Lawrence N. Morgan, guided the vari-tasselled graduates over the platform in quick yet well-ordered procession. On the stage stood President Bizzell, performing the most pleasant task of his college year, while at his left was Emil R. Kraettli, ex '17, secretary of the university, handing out the diplomas to the president. Seemingly tireless, President Bizzell shook hands with each graduate, handed his diploma and had a cheery farewell. The awarding of the master's degree was somewhat slower. Dean Dodge with deft motions hooded each master and each doctor.

The undergraduate degrees awarded follow: bachelor of arts, 254; bachelor of arts in library science, twenty three; bachelor of science, ten; bachelor of science in chemistry, one; bachelor of science in geology, thirty five; bachelor of science in home economics, fifteen; bachelor of science in physical education, four; bachelor of science in business, eighty; bachelor of science in education, sixty eight; bachelor of science in architectural engineering, two; bachelor of

science in chemical engineering, five; bachelor of science in civil engineering, twelve; bachelor of science in electrical engineering, twenty one; bachelor of science in geological engineering, ten; bachelor of science in mechanical engineering, twenty two; bachelor of science in mining engineering, two; bachelor of science in oil field management, four; bachelor of science in petroleum engineering, twenty three; bachelor of science in engineering physics, two; bachelor of fine arts, two; bachelor of fine arts in public school art, five; bachelor of fine arts in interior decoration, three; bachelor of fine arts in painting, one; bachelor of fine arts in dramatic art, seven; bachelor of fine arts in piano, eight; bachelor of fine arts in public school music, eight; bachelor of fine arts in public school instrumental music, two; bachelor of fine arts in violin, one; bachelor of fine arts in voice, five; bachelor of laws, seventy six; bachelor of science in medicine, forty three; graduate nurse, forty one; pharmaceutical chemist, thirteen; bachelor of science in pharmacy, four.

Graduate degrees granted were: master of arts, twenty five; master of science, seventeen; master of business administration, two; master of education, fourteen; master of science in engineering, five; master of science in pharmacy, one; electrical engineer, one; doctor of philosophy, three; doctor of medicine, forty seven.

The new medical doctors had an emergency call even before their degrees were granted. An extraordinarily hard rain (which at Meeker, near Oklahoma City, fell ten inches in several hours) flooded lower Oklahoma City. Near Hollywood, on the Oklahoma City-Norman road, Little river flooded and cars around 11 o'clock at night were swept off the road. Two boys going to Oklahoma City from Norman to get green groceries for a Norman merchant, were forced to stand with water up to their necks all night because they could not swim. In the morning firemen rescued them. In Oklahoma City the new medics were called into action by the relief committee, at work salvaging the thousands made homeless by the overflow. In Norman, where many students commute from nearby Oklahoma cities, examinations were given twice, in order that those kept away by high water might be able to complete their work.

▲ ▲ ▲ Congress officers

Congress literary society has chosen as its president, Finis Gillespie '33 of Hobart, well known political leader on the campus. Other officers are A. R. Douglas '33, Electra, Texas, vice president and Eugene Carter '35, Muskogee, treasurer.