

## St. Pat's council

BY FRANK ITTNER, '32

THIS is the nineteenth annual Saint Patrick's celebration. Every spring, for eighteen years, engineers have worked together in an effort to present a program that would be a little superior to the one of the year before.

In a way it must have been easy for those who "engineered" the first celebration. Theirs was a fresh and untried field with plenty of new stunts for the openhouse and a world of new ideas everywhere. In ensuing years, the task has assumed steadily increasing proportions until today with a benefit show, open house, engineering publication, dance, banquet, and fireworks, the entire affair requires splendid effort and cooperation.

The coming of this greater open house has brought into being the Saint Pat's council and on the shoulders of this group rests the responsibility for the success of the present day celebration. Mem-

bership on the council is achieved in several ways. In the fall of the year, after the first big cider and doughnut gettogether of the engine school, it has been the practice of the president of the Engineers club to name his committee men. In this way groups of three or four are placed in charge of the various activities. The chairmen of these committees and the officers of the Engineers club automatically become members of the Saint Pat's council. In addition to these men representatives are elected by popular vote from each school so that the group will be all inclusive.

This group must see that the programs are printed, that tickets are sold and that the dance goes on. They decide on any emergency that may arise during the period of festivities. Future celebrations may outlive the present method of government but they will be real celebrations when they do.

Members of the council are: Frank

Front row, left to right: Cecil Armstrong, Jack Abernathy, Jimmie Lisk, «Hank» Johnson, Lee Minter, Robert Feemster, Wyatt Hendricks, and Forrest Love; second row: Bill Barlow, Bernard Doud, Frank Ittner, Robert Lindsly, Scott Hammonds, Morris Frack and R. P. J. Green; top row: Sam Hogan, Ray Lynch, J. L. Forbis, Vic Torres, and Elmer Mackey

Ittner, president; R. A. Feemster, vicepresident; R. E. Mackey, treasurer; Gerald Bilyeu, secretary; W. H. Barlow, J. L. Forbis, Cecil Armstrong, and Jack Abernathy from the mens council; R. G. Andrews, and Wyatt Hendricks from the civil engineering school; H. J. Johnson, dance chairman; M. W. Frack and K. C. Howard from the mechanical engineering school; L. E. Minter, Sigma Tau; G. Scott Hammonds, Tau Beta Pi; R. P. McClung, architectural engineering school; Forrest Love, chemical engineering school; R. R. Lindsly, petroleum engineering school; Wilmer Ragsdale, electrical engineering school; Jack Green, and G. M. Groenendyke from the engineering physics school; Sam Hogan, show committee chairman; Vic Torres, chairman fireworks; Jim Lisk, editor of The Sooner Magazine issue; Ray Lynch, chairman homecoming float committee.