astray. Iowa State fell by 43 to 20 at Norman, and Kansas State and Nebraska went down in order as the Sooner machine sailed along without a sputter on its first road trip.

Most optimistic backers then said the Sooners were invincible, but such optimism flickered with the invasion of the Missouri Tigers. Coach George Edwards' five won the opening exhibition tilt by 31 to 28, Oklahoma's first loss of the year, but the Sooners rallied bravely to win the official contest the next night by 35 to 21. Oklahoma's hopes flared again.

But not for long. The following week saw the Sooner victory chance shattered. Boasting four conference wins, and leading the loop undefeated, the Sooners invaded the Mount Oread nest of the Kansas Jayhawks, only to limp from the Kansas city with their proud prairie schooner badly battered with two straight defeats. A heart-rending 40-38 loss the next night to Iowa State merely aded misery to misery.

Returning home for games with Kansas State and Nebraska, the Sooners turned on more basketball heat than had ever been seen in Big Six circles, pouncing on the Huskers and Wildcats for brilliant victories. The Cornhuskers were beaten by 53 to 23 for a new Big Six scoring record, Bross making 19 points against the team he had totaled 18 against earlier. But this was only a preliminary to the real scoring orgy which came two nights later against the Manhattan, Kansas, team. Bross was wild again, making 22 points, in the 68-21 Oklahoma victory. It was another conference scoring record, and one that should stand for some time.

Their fondest backers again visioned a championship at last, with Kansas and Missouri alone blocking the Sooners' way. They didn't know that Allen of Kansas, the cage wizard supreme, was already "in" with the honors. The Oklahoma five made gallant bids against both the Missourians and the Kansans, but even their great individual brilliance and break-neck speed fell short before the Tigers' power at Columbia and the superb Jayhawks' team play at Norman.

Winning six games and losing four, the Oklahoma team finished in a deadlock with Missouri for second place. It was the eighth time in Coach McDermott's thirteen years at Oklahoma that the Sooners have finished either first or second in the Big Six or Missouri Valley conference—a splendid record for the Oklahoma coach. During that time McDermott's teams have won 102 conference games.

Three Sooners, Percy Main, Clinton, Harold LeCrone, Norman, and Ervyl Bross, El Reno, ended their careers, leaving McDermot seven lettermen for next year. Bross made the Associated Press's and the Kansas City Star's first all-conference teams, as did Bud Browning. Main and Charlie Munson, Oklahoma's high

jumping center, were put on the AP's second club, while LeCrone made the Kansas City Journal-Post's third all-star crew.

Despite the fact that Kansas loses only Paul Harrington from its team, hope will make its "eternal" showing along with next year's Oklahoma cagers. Main, Bross, and LeCrone will be hard to replace, but McDermott will have seven returning lettermen and one of the most prospective freshman squads in the school's history with which to work.

Browning and Stanley Tyler both have another year, and five others who filled in well the past season to make their first letters, will have two more seasons to play. They include Munson, Wayne Le-Crone, Don Hays, Edgar Warren, and Jerome Needy. Among the yearling hopefuls, who are now thoroughly innoculated with the "Down the Jayhawk" spirit, are Tee Connelly, twice all-state center from El Reno; Herman Nelson, the great Norman high school star for four years; Merle Coleman, who tops six feet by five inches, a Tulsa boy; R. C. Cox, shifty, straight-shooting forward from Oklahoma City, and other outstanding material.

The final scoring standings follow:

	FG	FT	TOTAL
Ebling, f, Kansas	44	36	124
Bross, f, Oklahoma	46	16	108
Browning, g, Oklahoma	35	26	96
Wegner, c, Iowa State	32	30	94
Lunney, f, Nebraska	32	13	77
Miller, g, Missouri	32	11	75
Graham, f, Kansas State	26	21	73
Jorgensen, g, Missouri	28	13	69
Harrington, g, Kansas	29	10	68
Parsons, g, Nebraska	27	14	68
Cooper, f, Missouri	25	13	63
Main, f, Oklahoma	27	7	61
Boyd, g, Kansas State	22	7	51
Holmes, g, Iowa State	16	18	50
Cowen, f, Iowa State	20	8	48
Munson, c, Oklahoma	20	1	41
Wells, c, Kansas	15	9	39
Boswell, f, Nebraska	14	9	37
Freeland, c, Kansas State	14	5	33
Widman, g, Nebraska	15	2	32
Doty, f, Iowa State	7	14	28
Stoner, f, Kansas State	10	6	26
Warren, f, Oklahoma	11	3	25
Thompson, f, Missouri	10	5	25
Other Sooner points sco	red in	n con	ference

Other Sooner points scored in conference games are Hays 21, Harold LeCrone 12, Tyler 7, Cobb 5, and Wayne LeCrone 5.

## Honor Students Listed

Seventy-one University students made straight "A" averages during the first semester, grade reports released recently showed.

The list of students included forty-five men and twenty-six women. Mrs. Susie Fine and Paul Fine, mother and son, were included among the seventy-one.

The complete list follows:

G. R. Baxter, E. W. Earley, Frank O. Hamilton, Leona E. Hawkins, Jack A. Horner, Mary Alice Larson, Stewart W. Mark, John W. Mason, Dorothy B. Mc-Brayer, Burnie Merson, Marjorie Ruth Miller, Roy L. Neel, Joe Sureck, Peter O. Tawson, W. W. Whiteman, all of Oklahoma City.

The following live in Norman: Maxine Appleman, Chester Roy Bartlett, Charles C. Bush, Joseph M. Culp, Ernestina B. Cortazar, Dell Val Dale, Rosella L. Dorsett, Dotjennette Gifford, Olive V. Hawes, Leonard Kaplan, Jackson A. Kinnebrew, Mary Elizabeth Lockett, Kenneth E. McAfee, Elizabeth M. McCool, Raymond Parr, Frances G. Peters, Jackson F. Scovel, Jackson P. Sickle, Bland West.

Others are: Elizabeth L. Amis, Roswell,

New Mexico; Thomas L. Ballenger, Tahlequah; William C. Bednar, Chickasha; John L. Beauchamp, jr., Tulsa; John F. Cheadle, Cherokee; Wilson E. Cline, Newkirk; Marcus Cohn, Tulsa; Paul C. Fine and Mrs. Susie C. Fine, Idabel; Gladys C. Fischl, Ardmore; Evelyn A. Gray, Ponca City; Martha Harms, Cordell; Sylvan Hertz, New York City; Frances Elizabeth Holliday, Bacone; Helen Frances Hutchinson, Ravenswood, West Virginia; Max E. Johnson, Supply; Robert W. Kahn, Lawton; Charles Lehnhard, Anadarko; Jean Levy, Muldrow.

Margaret Linebaugh, Muskogee; Olga Ludwick, Fort Cobb; Elbert F. McMullin, Manchester; Gerald Lee Miller, Arkansas City, Kansas; Glee Miller, Skiatook; Sam H. Minsky, Sapulpa; Mildred Claire Morrison, Waurika; Alfred Naifeh, Tulsa; Betsy B. Neer, Vinita; Charles L. Pain, Carnegie; Horace A. Santry, Los Angeles, California; John R. Raipley, Cherokee; Ellen Shaunty, Enid; Jesse E. Taylor, Woodward; Earl T. Waren, Salina, Kansas; Thomas Wiancko, Guthrie; Crystal H. Wiley, Abilene, Texas; and Thomas Z. Wright, Beaver.