Tau Beta Pi was founded at Lehigh University in June, 1885, and since then has been built up into an organization consisting of 61 chapters and more than twenty thousand members throughout the country.

Its purpose is to offer students of technical schools of America membership in an honorary association. It is not wholly a professional society since students who are qualified in any branch of engineering may become members. The annual elections to the society, which are based upon scholarship, integrity, breadth of interest, adaptability, and unselfish activity, are limited to the upper one-fourth of the senior class and three students who have grade averages within the upper oneeighth of the junior class. The government of the organization in each chapter is under the direction of the elected student officers and an advisory board consisting of four faculty members of Tau Beta Pi. Membership in Tau Beta Pi is one of the highest scholastic honors that an undergraduate engineering student can receive.

The youngest honor society in the school of engineering is Tau Omega, the national honorary aeronautics fraternity. This organization was founded here at the University during the fall of 1927, and by February 18, 1928, received its charter giving it a national scope. Beta chapter of Tau Omega was established in the spring of 1932 at Wichita University, Wichita, Kansas. Petitions are now being considered for chapters at the Universities of Minnesota and Florida.

The primary purpose of the chapter when organized was to promote interest in aeronautics among undergraduates of universities and colleges. Through its efforts the University aeronautical courses were offered in the fall of 1929. Since the organization of the fraternity, it has been experimenting in every field of aeronautics. Contrary to the stand taken by the other honor societies in the school of engineering, Tau Omega does not limit its membership to engineering students alone, but to anyone who has the proper qualifications and, in particular, to those who have shown that they are truly interested in aeronautics and are willing to work for its advancement. However, nearly all of its membership is confined to the engineering school and as a result its activities are along engineering lines.

Tau Omega has been considered as one of the most constructive honor organizations in the engineering school. It has been through its activity, under the direction of Professors Joseph Liston, J. C. Davis, and L. A. Comp, that courses in aeronautics have been added to the curriculum in the University. In addition equipment has been made and procured by this active organization for instructors and research purposes.

Under the guidance of Professor Liston, Tau Omega has built the only wind tunnel in Oklahoma and its members are now doing research work on it. The organization is also working on two large airplane engines procured from the U. S. Navy by the society preparatory to running efficiency tests on them. Work is being done on an "acroplane" procured by the fraternity for the purpose of stimulating interest as well as for learning more about the mechanics of flight.

Tau Omega has among its members men who are deeply interested in aviation and in the engineering school. It is such membership as this which will eventually be the source of realization of one of the finest schools of engineering in the country.

Dean Felgar and his faculty have done their part toward erecting a foundation upon which to build. The student must then build upon that foundation. But the strength of his structure and the beauty of his design must be attained by his own efforts, these efforts bearing the real fruits of success by proper association. And it has been the purpose of these organizations to offer that association and initiative, which will ripen the fruit he has been growing and cultivating, and which will realize for him that for which the Dean and faculty have been striving, the makings of real engineers and men. And without such men any institution must fall.

Sooners at Teachers Convention

SOONER alumni attending the annual convention of the Oklahoma Educational association early in February in Oklahoma City made headquarters at the Biltmore hotel and enjoyed reunions with classmates who were drawn from all parts of the state to the meetings.

Fisher Ames, '30law, president of the Oklahoma City Alumni club, was toastmaster at the luncheon of Sooner alumni in the Biltmore dining room. The young president who will "run the show" when the Oklahoma City club holds its Homecoming roundup next fall in Oklahoma City, identified himself as a clever master of ceremonies.

The Biltmore lobby was thronged with Sooner alumni every minute of the threeday meeting. Frank S. Cleckler, alumni secretary, was in charge of an information and registration table in the lounge room. Assistance in finding meetings and friends was provided by the association through its secretary.

Alumni who signed the register during the convention period follow:

1901

lohn	T. Hefley,	Enid
onn	1. Hency,	
		1902
Roy	Gittinger,	Norman.
		1913
E. R.	Kraettli, N	Jorman; E.

1

E. R. Kraettli, Norman; E. C. Houston, Honolulu, Hiwaii.

1914

Luther H. White, Tulsa. 1915

Mrs. J. B. Newby, Oklahoma City. 1916

Mr. and Mrs. L. W. Kitchens, Cheyenne.

1918

Clay DeFord, Afton; Marjorie Brainard, Oklahoma City.

J. C. Conrad, Crescent.

1921

Mr. and Mrs. Ulrich Beeson, Alva; Lewis E. Salwaechter, Pond Creek; Mr. and Mrs. T. M. Beaird, Norman; Frank S. Cleckler, Norman.

1922

Bessie Herrin, Oklahoma City; Joe J. Miller, Chickasha.

1923

Bertha Downing, Norman; Emma Estell-Harbour. Edmond.

1924 Gordon P. Shelton, Frederick.

1925

Frank D Hess, Drumright; Anna Cottingham, Tulsa.

Viscinia V. S. V. I

Virginia K. Sage, Verden; Herbert H. Scott, Norman.

1927

C. N. Conwill, Lawton; Murrel Bixler, Oklahoma City.

1928

M. V. Van Meter, jr., Oklahoma City. 1929

Paul W. Partridge, Oklahoma City; Mrs. A. P. Lever, Oklahoma City; Don Hansen, Marble City. 1930

Fisher Ames, jr., Oklahoma City; Grace Combest, Blackwell; Florence G. Miller, Wilburton.

1931

Paul Thurber, Tishomingo; J. O. Shaw, Frederick.

1932

Odiene H. Lynch, Chelsea; Streeter Stuart, El Reno; Waldo L. Geis, Shawnee; Vernon C. Walker, Crescent; Ernie Hill, Norman.

1933

B. W. Weber, Oklahoma City; G. S. Fields, Oklahoma City; Vida M. Lynch, Chelsea; C. O. Moore, Guymon; Ralph Brand, Pauls Valley; Ermon Boyd, Enid; Smith Watkins, Putnam City; J. G. True, Lawton.