The forty-first commencement

JUNE 5, the Forty-first annual Commencement, was a big day in the life of the University of Oklahoma. One of its former graduates, George B. Parker, Class of 1908, editor-in-chief of the Scripps Howard Newspapers, New York City, delivered the commencement address.

Thirty seven students were presented prizes for outstanding work done during the preceding four years in their various colleges. They were Andy Beck, Ralph Brand, and A. O. Johnson, Letzeiser medals for men; Gordon Peeler, Eloise Chandler, and Virginia Lester, Letzeiser medals for women; Jack LeFevre, Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship key; A. O. Johnson, S. T. Bledsoe law prize; Jack Horner, Callaghan and Company law prize; E. Smith Hester, American Law Book Co. prize; C. B. Huddleston, Leslie Krob, Jessie Wyly, National Association of Drug Clerk prizes; Jo Ella Vaughan, Letzeiser medal in art; Helen Barbour, Oikonomia Home Economics award; Chrystene Trowbridge, Omicron Nu freshman award in Home Economics; Hazel Lee, Sigma Delta Chi journalism award; Samuel Abrams, Selma Rott, W. Robert Clark, Sigma Delta Chi scholarship awards; John Alley, and Beryl Ward, Alliance Francaise and Books Abroad French prizes; Maurice Steinig and G. Lois Nelson, Salem Evangelical and Books Abroad German prizes; Lorraine Ketchum, Chi Omega prize in Sociology; Richard Buchanan, Ralph Rockwood, Thomas Mayrath, Alvan Muldrow, Earl Mulmed, Gaiser Maddox and John Alley, R. O. T. C. Honor students; Richard Buchanan, Advanced R. O. T. C. Thesis prize; William McBee, Sons of American Revolution medal; and Andy Beck, M. V. I. A. A. medal for excellence in scholarship and

President William Bennett Bizzell conferred the Master of Arts degree on the following graduates: Oliver Earl Benson, Elizabeth Ann Brooks, Ethel CaLori, Virginia Carter, Edward M. Clark, Lillian Clayton, Ben K. Cudd, Esther O. Gassett, Jeanne King, Hazel Landon, Robert McKnelly, Willie Nutt, Theodore R. Schaffler, Arlis M. Smith, Dorothy Taft, Nancy Thomas, James N. Tidwell, Lucile Traughber, John B. Waldrip, and Berthe Webb.

Master of science degree was conferred on Elizabeth Barkley, Ann Buntin,

Jasper Clark, Calvin Cooksey, John A. Gillin, James Harlow, Claude M. Harris, jr., Alice Hartley, Charles Hewett, Richard V. Hollingsworth, Everett Miller, James Muir, James G. Phillips, Randall F. Ross, Lottie Mae Russell, Babette L. Shumacker, Romona Todd, and Virden W. Wilson.

The degree of Doctor of Philosophy was given John Milton Ashton, Angie Elberta Debo, and Emma Estell Harbour.

The following received the degree of Doctor of Medicine: Donald Adelbert Angus, Carl H. Bailey, Thomas J. Barb, Davis Breco, Imogene Butts, Emma Jean Cantrell, Orville N. Coppedge, Wilma Craft, Francis S. Crane, Delos G. Curb, James B. Darrough, Charles H. Eads, Harry C. Ford, Samuel R. Fryer, Gustavus D. Funk, Rex Greer, Joseph L. Guffy, Harold W. Hackler, John F. Hackler, Welson K. Haynie, Wilkie D. Hoover, Rex C. House, James R. Huggins, Virgil Roy Jobe, Walter C. H. Kerr, Everett G. King, Phil M. Lambke, Robert R. Lee, Paul B. Lingenfelter, James P. Luton, Sherburne MacLeon, James M. McMillan, Joseph F. Messenbaugh, Orval L. Parsons, Fred T. Perry, Maurice L. Peter, Raymond G. Ray, Charles W. Reed, Karl A. Reed, Galen A. Rogers, Lum E. Russell, Weldon K. Ruth, Hudson S. Shelby, Albert W. Shiftlet, Jesse D. Shipp, Wendell L. Smith, Carl B. Smithson, Henry Kirven Speed, jr., H. Violet Sturgeon, E. L. Tichenor, William C. Tisdal, Clifford A. Traverse, Tom Lyon Wainwright, Price T. Watson, John R. Winston, and Orville Mc-Clure Woodson.

In the College of Arts and Sciences 304 degrees were conferred, 211 of which were Bachelor of Arts, 26 Library Science, 9 Science, 4 Chemistry, 23 Geology, 17 Home Economics, 12 Physical Education, and 2 in Zoology.

In the College of Business Administration 84 degrees were conferred.

In the College of Education 62 degrees were conferred.

In the College of Engineering 104 degrees were given; 4 of which were in Architectural engineering, 3 Chemical engineering, 13 Civil engineering, 14 Electrical engineering, 2 Engineering physics, 1 General engineering, 6 Geological engineering, 27 Mechanical engineering, 2 Mining engineering, and 32 in Petroleum engineering.

The College of Fine Arts conferred 41 degrees: 5 Bachelor of Fine Arts, 13 Music, 17 Art, and 6 in Dramatic Art.

The School of Law conferred 73 degrees of Bachelor of Law.

The School of Nursing gave 38 degrees in nursing.

In the School of Pharmacy 36 degrees: 26 in Pharmaceutical chemistry and 10 in Pharmacy, were conferred.

The Graduate School conferred the Master of Arts on 20, Master of Science, 18; Master of Science in Engineering, 1; Professional degree in Mining, 2; Master of Education, 17; Doctor of Education, 1; and Doctor of Philosophy, 3.

. . .

Writers' forum

The second annual writers' forum will be held from June 13 through July 25, with a series of seven lectures. Dr. Edward Everett Dale, '11as, head of the history department and writer on the West, was to be chairman. Except for the lecture Thursday night, July 6, each lecture will be held at 7:30 o'clock on Tuesdays in the Women's building. The lectures are free and discussion of mutual problems may be had following each lecture.

The program follows:

June 13—"That blunt instrument," by Todd Downing, '24as.

June 20—"Moccasin tracks," by Stanley Vestal.

June 27—"On the trail of Oklahoma's past," by Doctor Dale.

July 6—"Gun and fireside," by John Joseph Mathews, '20sc.

July 11—"Grease paint and footlights," by Miss Winifred Johnston, '24as, and Rupel J. Jones.

July 18—"New writers of the old West," by Kenneth C. Kaufman, '16as, '19M.A.

July 25—"The romantic halo," by Dr. William Bennett Bizzell.

. . .

Philosophy lectures

The second annual series of lectures in philosophy for a modern world inaugurated last year by Dr. Charles M. Perry, head of the philosophy department, was to begin June 13 with an address on "Confidence or Despair: Fear or Hope?" by Dr. Howard O. Eaton. The second of the series of three lectures was to be June 20 by Dr. Gustav Mueller on "Can There Be a Philosophy of Religion?" Doctor Perry will conclude the series June 27 with a lecture on "American Philosophers and Their Social Doctrines."

The lectures are free and are to be held in room 211 of the liberal arts building. Following each lecture, members of the audience may discuss problems connected with it with the speaker.