DISTRICT JUDGES

## (Six of Thirty-eight)

Thurman S. Hurst,'12law, Pawnee, district five

- Harry L. S. Halley,'15as,'17law, Tulsa, district five.
- Lucius Babcock,'311aw, El Reno, district thirteen.
- Ben Arnold,'20as,'25law, Oklahoma City, district thirteen.

Clarence Mills,23law, Oklahoma City district thirteen.

James I. Goins, 28law, Marietta, district nineteen.

## STATE SENATORS

## (Seven of Forty-four)

- H. C. Ivester, 27law, Sayre, district two.
- Charles B. Duffy,'22law, Ponca City, district nine.
- Tom Waldrep,'15law, Shawnee, district thirteen, holdover.
- James A. Rinehart,'23law, El Reno, district fourteen.
- Don Wilbanks,'22law, Holdenville, district twenty-two, holdover.
- David M. Logan,'16as, Okmulgee, district thirty-two, holdover.
- Dennis Bushyhead,'29law, Claremore, district thirty-three.

### STATE REPRESENTATIVES

Delmas E. Martin,'32as,'32law, Pryor.

Leon C. Phillips,'16law, Okemah.

W. P. Johnson,'20bs, Claremore.

Merton E. Munson,'31law, Lawton.

William E. Poteet,'33law, Commerce.

- Aubrey M. Kerr,'28law, Ada.
- Herbert L. Brannon,'32as, Muskogee.
- Wilbur L. Morse,'28as,'30law, Henryetta.
- Kenneth H. Abernathy,'31law, Shawnee.
- Leonard Carey,'24as,'24law, Shawnee.
- Robert N. Chase,'27ex, Seminole. Charles W. Schwoerke,'31law, Oklahoma City.
- W. O. Coe,'28law, Oklahoma City.
- Bryan Billings,'32ex, Oklahoma City.
- Murray F. Gibbons,'15ex, Oklahoma City. Arthur E. Montgomery,'15law, Tulsa.
- Ben Huey,'3llaw, Norman.

Webster Wilder,'33as,'33law, Cherokee.

Marvin Wooten,'31ex, Konawa.

Rowe Cook,'32law, Atoka. Tom Z. Wright,'29bs,'34law, Beaver.

Bert Larason,'30as, Fargo.

Frank Bailey,'21ex, Vinita.

(Now enrolled at the University) Jesse Ervin Taylor,'30as,'36law, Curtis. Samuel G. Whitaker,'31as,'35law, Marlow. Ewing C. Sadler,'35as,'37law, Sulphur. Sam Sullivan,'37law, Durant. Louis W. Beck,'36law, Wayne. Cecil Myers,'37as, Sayre.

Paul Crawford,'34eng, son of Sam Crawford, superintendent of the University Press, has been employed by the federal government as chief engineer in a program of constructing dams to create lakes near Sayre. Young Crawford was graduated from the school of civil engineering. He has under him a group of workers who are rapidly completing construction work that will give farmers in the vicinity of Sayre permanent watering places.

# Sooners Take Office

WHEN the smoke of a summer's political campaign lifted with the November general election, an unusually large number of University of Oklahoma alumni found themselves the choice of the people.

In line with the general tendency of the past few years of selecting men and women with training for public offices, the voters of Oklahoma showed in the final November ballot that a university trained candidate was to be given preference, in many cases, over other candidates.

Probably the finest showings of alumni were made in the congressional races, since four of the state's nine new congressmen are alumni of the University. They are Will Rogers, at large, Wilburn Cartwright, from the third district, Josh Lee, from the fifth district, and Jed Johnson from the sixth district.

All of the four, except Lee, were incumbents and were given a vote of confidence by their constituents.

Josh Lee, who was head of the University public speaking department until he entered the race from the University and Oklahoma City district, is well known throughout the southwest as a powerful speaker and a scintillating humorist. He is an ex-soldier and ran on a platform of "draft the nation's wealth in time of war."

Two of the state officers elected are alumni of the University. Mac Q. Williamson, Pauls Valley attorney, ran a strong race and was elected attorney general. John Vaughan was re-elected superintendent of public instruction and showed exceptionally strong support throughout the state.

James I. Goins, young graduate of 1928, was elected district judge from the nineteenth district. He is the youngest district judge in the state. Six other Sooners were elected to district judgeships. They were Thurman Hurst, Pawnee; Harry L. S. Halley, Tulsa; Ben Arnold and Clarence Mills, both of Oklahoma City; and Lucius Babcock, El Reno.

Seven graduates of the University will be in the state senate when it assembles in January. Dennis Bushyhead, Claremore, will be the youngest of the group. He has been a county judge for the past term. James Rinehart, young El Reno attorney who defended Neal Myers in the recent sensational case, also will spend his first term in the senate.

Other graduates on the senate roll include H. C. Ivester, Sayre; Charles B. Duffy, Ponca City; Tom Waldrep, Shaw-

nee; Don Wilbanks, Holdenville; and Dave Logan, Okmulgee.

Twenty-nine Sooners will be in the state house of representatives. Of this group six are now enrolled at the University and will take examinations early so that they may be on deck when the roll is called three weeks before the first semester closes.

Leon "Red" Phillips, Okemah, the speaker of the house, was graduated from the University in 1916, while Merton Munson, floor leader, Lawton, has been out of school only three years.

Rowe Cook,'32law, Atoka, and Bert Larason,'30as, Fargo, were roommates at the Lambda Chi Alpha house several years ago. They will be among the young men in the lower house. Webster "Web" Wilder,'33as,'33law, Cherokee, is one of the popular young legislators. Last year, he identified himself on the campus in political activities. He also was Beta Theta Pi's outstanding intramural start athlete. He competed in every one of twenty-two athletic events during the year.

Herbert L. Branon,'32as, Muskogee, majored in philosophy at the University and was considerable of a political theorist before he was graduated and entered politics.

Of the six still attending the University, Ewing Sadler, Sulphur, was president of the men's council last year and was a leader in campus politics. Sam Sullivan, recently elected caucus secretary, is also an outstanding student in activities.

A luncheon for all alumni elected to the state house and senate was held in the Oklahoma Union the weekend of the Oklahoma-Kansas State football game. President W. B. Bizzell and Lewis Morris, president of the Alumni association, were the principal speakers. Members of the alumni association advisory committee also attended the meeting. Doctor Bizzell outlined the needs of present day education and touched upon the particular needs of the University.

Following are the names of alumni holding major offices:

## CONGRESSMEN

(Four of Nine) Will Rogers,'30M.S., congressman-at-large. Wilburn Cartwright,'20law, congressman, third district.

Josh Lee,'17as, congressman, fifth district. Jed Johnson,'15ex, congressman, sixth district.

## STATE OFFICERS

Mac Q. Williamson,'10ex, attorney general. John Vaughan,'24as,'27M.A., superintendent of public instruction.