Alumni Association Progress

HARLES B. MEMMINGER, '14, of Atoka, is the new president of the University of Oklahoma Association. Having served as vice-president of the Association during the last year, and as acting president after the resignation of Lowrey Harrell who was appointed on the University Board of Regents, Mr. Memminger was advanced to the position of president of the Association at the annual Commencement meeting of the Alumni Executive Board June 6.

The other new officers elected by the board are Buff B. Burtis, '27, first vicepresident; Mrs. Kitty Shanklin Rountree, '23, Oklahoma City, second vice-president; Clarence Karcher, '16, Dallas, Texas, vicepresident for Texas, and T. M. Beaird, '21, re-elected secretary-treasurer.

Marking completion of ten years of publication of *The Sooner Magazine*, the board authorized publication of the magazine on an every-month basis throughout the year, beginning this year. Heretofore the magazine has been published ten months each year, omitting issues in August and September.

The Association secretary and magazine editor recommended the publication of the magazine on a 12-month basis as a greater service to alumni, and to maintain better continuity in Association activities.

The Executive Board also authorized formation of a Forty-Year Club for alumni who have been out of school forty years or more. First alumni to be eligible for the club are C. Ross Hume, '98, Anadarko; Dr. Roy Stoops, '98, Oakland, California; Lawrence W. Cole, '99, Boulder, Colorado, and J. L. Hefley, '99, Norman.

On the facing page are glimpses of Commencement events in June. At the top is a session of Class Reunion visitors; Fred Capshaw and Earl Foster in conversation; and a married couple who graduated together—Mr. and Mrs. Garth Caylor, Hugo, with their son and Mrs. Caylor's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Dave Stovall, Hugo. The ballroom picture shows the Alumni-Senior Luncheon. Regents President Joe Looney is signing a diploma for Millionaire J. N. Harber of Seminole. Dr. S. R. Hadsell, '04, is shown with son John who graduated and received a Harvard scholarship. Lower row: Alumni President Charles Memminger with Mrs. Memminger and their daughter; and Reunion Chairmen W. T. Mayfield, '18, J. L. Rader, '08, and Fred Capshaw, '13. Lloyd B. Curtis, '08, is whooping things up with his trumpet, much to the amusement of Classmates George Smith, Frank Long and Tom Carey. Members of the County Advisory Councils of the Alumni Association were reappointed for another year on recommendation of Association officials. As the county councils were set up during the last year for the first time, many of the council members have served only a short time and are only now well acquainted with their duties. Also, since the State Legislature will meet during the next winter and developments might require active work by county councils on matters of vital importance to the University, it was believed advisable to maintain the present setup intact for another year.

Only a few counties are not yet organized, and Secretary Beaird predicted that every one of the seventy-seven counties in the State would have a carefully selected Advisory Council by July 15.

The Executive Board confirmed the election of five new board members: Frank Cleckler, '21, Muskogee, and Norman Brillhart, '17, Madill, as members-atlarge; Max Chambers, '21, '29, Okmulgee, District Two representative; Hicks Epton, '32law, Wewoka, District Four representative; and Miles Tolbert, '21, '23law, Hobart, District Seven representative.

Secretary Beaird reported to the Board that the Association would close the fiscal year with enough funds to pay all bills, but that as a result of separating the Association's salary budget from the University, it would be necessary to use part of the interest from the Life Membership Trust Fund.

All money paid on Life Memberships goes into this trust fund and none of the principal can be spent. However, interest from the fund for the current year is available to pay the cost of sending *The Sooner Magazine* to the Life Members and to apply on other Association expenses.

The board approved a budget for the next year on substantially the same basis as during the last year.

Those present for the board meeting were: Miles Tolbert, Hobart; Max Chambers, Okmulgee, Merle Woods, El Reno; Judge Harry L. S. Halley, Tulsa; Kenneth Abernathy, Shawnee; Elton Hunt, Tulsa; Norman Brillhart, Madill; Charles Duffy, Ponca City; Hicks Epton, Wewoka; Mrs. Florence Monnet McKown, Oklahoma City; Earl Foster, Oklahoma City; Dave Logan, Okmulgee; Charles Memminger, Atoka; R. W. Hutto, Norman; Frank Cleckler, Muskogee; Bruce Wiley, Norman; T. M. Beaird, Norman; Roscoe Cate, Norman.



Charles B. Memminger, '14, Atoka, the new O. U. Alumni President

Meeting at Tyler

Twenty-one enthusiastic Sooners and two guests attended a banquet meeting held in the Blackstone Hotel at Tyler, Texas, May 27. An East Texas O.U. Club was formed and A. Clem Wright, '20, was elected to serve as president until the first annual meeting, to be held in Tyler on Thursday evening prior to the Texas-Oklahoma football game in Dallas this fall.

Other officers elected are Ray H. Horton, '30, vice president, and Mrs. Conorma Perrine Howard, '31, secretary-treasurer. T. Jesse Johnson, '25, was appointed chairman of the entertainment committee.

Mr. Wright acted as master of ceremonies at the dinner, and called on those present for impromptu speeches, most of them in a reminiscing mood.

Others present included Betty Brown, '35; Dr. John M. Cassidy, '31med; Mrs. Grace Swain Cassidy, '27; Dr. Jesse Goldfeder, '26med; Lee Gower, '29; V. O. Harris, '30; Mrs. Roma Buchanan Harris, '29; Edward L. Howard, '31; Robert L. Jones, '26ms, M. B. Rudman, '32ex; Dr. H. C. Sehested, '31med; Mrs. Pernie Rozell Sehested, '30; C. R. Stephens, '28; Rebecca Selridge, '37, of Ardmore, Oklahoma; Mrs. Janice Nichols Warren, '31, and Mr. Warren; E. B. Wilson, '17, and Mrs. T. J. Johnson and Fred Schell, visitors.