## **Faculty Page**

## By Dr. Roy S. Hadsell

**F**RIDAY, September 29, the Faculty Club held its fifteenth annual reception at the Club House. In the receiving line were Dr. and Mrs. W. B. Bizzell and officers of the club, Professor and Mrs. Arnold W. Johnson, Professor and Mrs. Clyde Farrar, Professor and Mrs. C. F. Daily, Professor and Mrs. Ivan G. Richardson, and Professor and Mrs. J. T. Self.

At the door, during the evening, were Dr. and Mrs. M. L. Wardell, Dean and Mrs. J. F. Findlay, Dr. and Mrs. S. R. Hadsell, Mr. and Mrs. E. R. Kraettli.

Past presidents of the club and their wives assisted in the main hall. They were: Dr. and Mrs. A. B. Adams, Professor and Mrs. J. H. Casey, Dean H. L. Dodge and Mrs. Dodge, Dr. and Mrs. William Schriever, Dean J. H. Felgar and Mrs. Felgar, Professor and Mrs. F. G. Tappan, Dr. and Mrs. C. M. Perry, Professor and Mrs. Jerome Dowd, Dr. and Mrs. A. K. Christian, Professor and Mrs. C. T. Almquist.

The general committee for the reception consisted of Mrs. W. J. Cross, Mrs. W. T. Mayfield, and Mrs. John Alley. They were assisted by Rev. and Mrs. M. J. Lindloff, Dr. Helen Burton, Dr. and Mrs. S. Weidman, Mrs. Laura Miller, Mrs. Fredrik Holmberg, Miss Wilda Griffin, Mrs. O. W. Reinmuth, Mrs. R. H. Dott, Mrs. C. E. Mahaffy, Mrs. E. D. Meacham, Mrs. E. R. Page, Mrs. A. B. Adams, Mrs. J. B. Cheadle, Mrs. John Casey, Mrs. William Schriever, Mrs. Ray Groves, Mrs. Royden J. Dangerfield, Mrs. A. B. Sears, Mrs. Ben Huey, Mrs. Richard Downing, Mrs. G. L. Cross, Miss Margaret Stephenson, Mrs. R. W. Hutto, Mrs. Kathryn Buchanan, Mrs. Maurice Merrill, Mrs. Bland West, Mrs. Otto Walter.

All these committee members were active in making the reception a success.

The activities of the Faculty Club for the year are indicated by the list of committees named by the president of the club, Professor A. W. Johnson. These include a committee for Thursday teas, a dinner committee, one on formal and one on informal dances, a committee for soirees, one on games, one for the Saturday nights when the men meet, one for outdoor games, one on magazines, one on membership, presided over by C. L. Farrar. Dr. Maurice Merrill was named as parliamentarian.

.

At the meeting of the American Institute of Architecture in Washington, D.C. September 25-28, Professor Joseph E. Smay, director of the School of Architecture, was made chairman of the National



Joe E. Smay ... national chairman

Membership Committee. He had served two years as president of the Oklahoma chapter, and during his term the chapter had shown the greatest percentage increase of any state. This recognition came to him because of this fact. There are 14,000 architects in the U.S., 3,000 of whom now belong to the national society. Professor Smay was appointed by Governor Marland to the Board of Examiners of Architects in the state, a position which he still holds. He was the architect for two of the new buildings on the Campus, the Biology building, and the building for the College of Business Administration.

## ▲

The American Association of University Women held its regular annual tea Friday, September 29, at the home of Mrs. W. B. Bizzell. Receiving with Mrs. Bizzell were Mrs. H. V. Thornton, president, Mrs. John Morrison, Mrs. Lois Nelson, Miss Mary E. Potts, Miss Bobby Huff, Mrs. Maurice Merrill, and Dr. Dixie Young.

Presiding at the tea table were the past presidents, Mrs. Paul Updegraff, Miss Lucy Tandy, Mrs. H. D. Rinsland, and Mrs. Nettie Evans. Seventy-five guests called.

.

Dr. Felix Gastineau, a graduate of the University Medical School, formerly associated with the Eastern Oklahoma Hospital at Vinita, has moved to Norman to become resident physician at Ellison Infirmary. Dr. Gastineau had lived in Vinita for the last sixteen years. He and Mrs. Gastineau have two sons, Clifford and Bob, one in the University.

The tenth annual exhibition of landscape paintings by Professor O. B. Jacobson consists of subjects from Oklahoma, Colorado, New Mexico, and Arizona. Visitors to the campus should see this exhibit.

Herbert H. Scott, director of the Extension Division, attended a meeting of the Association of School Educational Film Libraries committee in New York October 4 and 5. He was invited partly because of the recent progress of the University of Oklahoma in the field of visual education.

President Bizzell will attend a Conference on Inter-American Relations in the Field of Education, called by Secretary of State Cordell Hull, on November 9 and 10 in Washington D.C.

Dr. Maurice Halperin, associate professor of Romance languages, has been added to the staff of the *Living Age* magazine as a consultant in the Latin American department.

President Bizzell has announced the appointment of sixteen committee members to plan the policies and program for the Institute of International Relations to be held on the campus next summer. Dr. Cortez A. M. Ewing, director of the School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, who has served as chairman of the committee for the last two summers, was reappointed to that position.

Dr. M. L. Wardell, assistant to President W. B. Bizzell, is one of seven university administrators selected by the Carnegie corporation of New York to visit any colleges of their choice during a part of the year 1939-40 for the purpose of studying administrative problems. He started this work in October. T. M. Beaird, executive secretary of the alumni association, has made arrangements for Dr. Wardell to meet with various alumni groups in the course of his travel.

Dr. R. L. Huntington, director of the School of Chemical Engineering, went to Galveston, Texas, to a three-day meeting of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers to present a paper on natural gas pressures. He was accompanied by Dean W. H. Carson and W. C. Bednar, assistant professor of petroleum engineering.