EWIS SALTER, dean of the College of Fine Arts, has been elected president of the Association of Music Executives of State Universities. The Association decided to hold its next meeting on the University of Oklahoma campus. It will be the first time the Association has ever come to Oklahoma for its meeting. The 1939 session will be held in the autumn.

Dean Salter received the B. M. degree at O. U. in 1912, the B. A. in 1917, and was awarded an A. M. degree at Columbia University in 1922. He has been on the faculty of the University since 1911 and was made full professor in 1936. After the death of Dean Fredrik Holmberg, Mr. Salter was appointed dean of the College of Fine Arts. He sponsors the fine series of lectures and entertainments known as the Artists Series.

H. H. Herbert, director of the University School of Journalism, has been reelected secretary-treasurer of the American Association of Teachers of Journalism and the American Association of Schools and Departments of Journalism.

He was re-elected at the associations' joint convention in Topeka, Kansas, during the Christmas holidays. This will be the tenth successive year that Mr. Herbert has served as secretary-treasurer for the two groups.

John O'Neil, '36fa, instructor in art in the University, has been named vice president of the Association of Oklahoma Artists.

The association held its annual meeting in Oklahoma City and named Elmer Capshaw, '15, '33m.ed, of Norman, as one of eight new members. Leonard Good, '27fa, assistant professor of art, was re-elected to membership in the society.

Dr. Cortez A. M. Ewing, director of the School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, was elected to the executive council of the American Political Science Association at its annual meeting in December in Columbus, Ohio.

Dr. Ewing was one of three members elected by the one thousand members of the convention to serve three-year terms on the council.

Dr. Joseph C. Pray, instructor in government, and Dr. Howard O. Eaton, professor of philosophy, also attended the convention.

Dr. R. T. House, head of the department of modern languages, has been appointed the United States delegate-correspondent for the Belgian Press Association, which has headquarters in Brussels.

As a member of the board of directors of the Belgium-American Educational foundation, Dr. House has published several articles on Belgium in *Books Abroad*, foreign book review quarterly edited by Dr. House.

Faculty Page

BY DR. S. ROY HADSELL, '04



Lewis Salter, '12, elected to head a national musical organization

Three University faculty members were named honorary fellows of the Oklahoma Academy of Science for outstanding research work carried on during the past year at the Fall meeting at Stillwater. They are Dr. C. A. Merritt, associate professor of geology; Dr. J. Teague Self, instructor in zoology; and Dr. G. A. Van Lear, associate professor of physics.

Hugh M. Eley, instructor in geology, was elected chairman of the geological section of the academy.

The Official Weekly Calendar is posted each week in public places about the grounds. It gives a cross section of University life and always contains news of the faculty. Take the issue for the week, January 9-12. It tells the time and place for the Faculty Club, student discussion groups, Men's Council, etc. The following items were taken from it:

The English Graduate Club was to be addressed by Professor M. S. Shockley on the subject, "The History of the Theatre in Richmond, Virginia."

Professor W. A. Willibrand addressed the German Club on the subject, "Religion in a Totalitarian State."

Professor Charles P. Green of the public speaking department had as guest speaker Dr. Ray K. Immel of the University of Southern California. Dr. Immel gave public addresses on Bernard Shaw's "The Devil's Disciple," and on "Poetry, the Least Popular of Arts." Professor Charles M. Perry of the department of

philosophy gave a tea Wednesday afternoon in honor of Dr. Immel to which members of the English and speech department were invited.

The Philosophy Club was addressed by Dr. Ralph Records of the department of history on "The New History."

Dean Homer L. Dodge of the Graduate School addressed the Spanish Club on "Mexico."

Dr. C. W. Randels of the department of mathematics addressed Pi Mu Epsilon on "Elementary Problems in Topology."

Sigma Xi announced through the secretary, Dr. Milton Hopkins, a lecture by Dr. Paul Kirchoff of Mexico City on "The Origins of Some Ancient Civilizations of Mexico."

The bulletin boards in the Union Building carry announcements for each day too numerous to mention—clubs, dinner meetings, student meetings. The Union is a hive of activity.

Walter Emery, '34law, assistant professor of speech, will spend the second semester at the University of Wisconsin, working toward a Ph. D. degree. His place on the faculty will be filled by Mrs. Leota Davis Murphy, '38, who has been studying speech at the University of Wisconsin on a fellowship, working toward a master's degree.

Oscar Brousse Jacobson, director of the School of Art, and Joseph Taylor, assistant professor of art, were among those appointed by the New York World's Fair Committee to select works of art from Oklahoma for the World's Fair.

Paintings by Leonard Good, '27fa, assistant professor of art, and John O'Neil, instructor in art, and sculpture by Craig Sheppard, '38fa, have been accepted for exhibition at the New York fair.

Mr. Jacobson and Mr. Taylor, along with the three other judges appointed in Oklahoma, were also invited to exhibit works at the fair.

W. S. Campbell, professor of English at the University who writes under the name Stanley Vestal, was a speaker last month at the annual meeting of the Minnesota State Historical Society at Minneapolis. His subject was "Humanity of the Indian." He also spoke at a luncheon meeting of a group of anthropologists and archeologists at the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Cortez A. M. Ewing, director of the School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, was elected to the executive council of the American Political Science Association at the national convention held during the Christmas holidays at Columbus, Ohio. Dr. Joseph C. Pray, instructor in government, Dr. Royden J. Dangerfield, professor of government, and Dr. Howard O. Eaton, professor of philosophy, also attended the conference.