Faculty Page

By Dr. Roy Hadsell

FTER a term of eleven years as dean of men at the University, Dr. James F. Findlay will leave in June to become president of Drury College, Springfield, Missouri. He was the unanimous choice of the board of trustees and faculty of the school to succeed Thomas W. Nadal, who resigned effective next month.

On receiving Dean Findlay's resignation, President W. B. Bizzell expressed regret at losing "one of the most outstanding personnel deans in the country."

Dr. Findlay is 39 years old and a native of Iowa. He came to O.U. in 1929 from Grinnell College where he had been dean of men for four years.

At the University of Oklahoma he organized the Independent Men's Association on the campus for social affairs, intramural activities and improvement of scholarship. He has also been instrumental in the spread of such organizations to more than thirty other universities and colleges, and was recently re-elected executive secretary of the National Independent Students' Association.

He is president of the Oklahoma State Association of Deans and Student Advisers and of the National Association of Deans and Advisers of Men.

Dean Findlay received his B.A. degree from Grinnell College in 1922. Awarded his master's degree at the Chicago Theological Seminary in 1923, he became an ordained Congregational minister and preached for two years in Iowa. In 1938 he completed work for a Doctor of Philosophy degree at New York University.

Dr. and Mrs. Findlay and their two children, Cornelia, 12, and James Franklin, Jr., 9, will move to Springfield after University commencement early in June.

Dr. Clifford A. Merritt, professor of geology, has been elected president of the University of Oklahoma chapter of Sigma Xi, national honorary scientific research fraternity. Other new officers are Dr. Dixie Young, associate professor of zoology, vicepresident; and Dr. Milton Hopkins, associate professor of botany, secretary-treasurer. Four persons have been advanced from associate to full membership in the chapter in recognition of research accomplishment. They are Virgil O. Johnson, technician in zoology, Gene Pelsor, instructor in physics, Newton Ward, research fellow in physics, and Irwin C. Winter, associate professor of pharmacology.

Papers by Dr. Charles E. Decker, professor of paleontology, were on the program of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists at Chicago in April.

A cover design by Craig Sheppard, assistant in art, has been accepted by Delta Phi Delta, honorary art fraternity for use on the program of the fraternity's national convention. Mr. Sheppard's design is based on a mural he created for the Business Administration Building at the University.

Dr. Homer L. Dodge, dean of the Graduate School, was one of the group of nationally known educators invited to participate in a conference at Chicago last month on methods of training college teachers. Dean Dodge's invitation came from Dr. Karl W. Bigelow, director of the Commission on Teachers' Education of the American Council on Education.

W. K. Newton, head of the department of accounting in the University, has been appointed by Governor Leon C. Phillips, '16law, to serve on the State Board of Accountancy. Mr. Newton fills a vacancy left by the resignation of John R. Cowan, Tulsa.

Dr. Helen B. Burton, director of the School of Home Economics, and Miss Lila M. Welch, professor of home economics, went to Atlanta, Georgia, last month to attend the southern regional conference for vocational home economics. Dr. Burton was chairman of the committee on the needs of freshman college women.

Compilation of unemployment survey data collected by the Oklahoma County Council of Social Welfare has been placed in the hands of Dr. J. J. Rhyne, director of the School of Social Work.

Lieutenant-Colonel Reese M. Howell, former commandant of the University R. O.T.C., will complete his studies at the Army War College at Washington, D.C., in June, and after a period at the Chemical Warfare School at Edgewood Arsenal, Maryland, will be assigned to Fort Bragg, North Carolina.

Dr. Henry Meier, who was head of the modern languages department from 1907 to 1911 is now on an extended visit with his daughter, Mrs. R. V. Lewis, in Tulsa. Since leaving the O.U. faculty, Dr. Meier taught French at Vanderbilt College, Nashville, Tennessee, and was on the faculty of Center College, Danville, Kentucky, until his retirement 13 years ago.

Rupel J. Jones, director of the School of Drama, took a group of student actors to Chapel Hill, North Carolina, last month to participate in the Southern Drama Festival at the University of North Carolina. The Oklahoma group presented "Derricks on the Hill," an oil field play written by Robert Whitehand, University of Oklahoma graduate and former assistant professor of drama. The play cast included, in addition to students, John Woodworth, instructor in drama. The Oklahoma play was praised by critics, and the University of Oklahoma was given one-fourth of all the exhibition space available at the festival. Nine other schools of drama shared the other space.

An interesting collection of 46 paintings by Gwendolyn Meux of Boulder, Colorado, formerly a member of the University art faculty, was displayed last month in the lobby of the Art Building. Miss Meux is now Mrs. George Waldrop, wife of a recreational director at Boulder College. She was on the University of Oklahoma faculty from 1921 until 1925.

Three members of the University staff have been appointed by a citizens' committee in Norman to study Norman's water supply problem and make recommendations. They are Robert H. Dott, director of the Oklahoma Geological Survey, N. E. Wolfard, assistant professor of civil engineering, and C. R. Sandifer, professor of mechanics. The general chairman of the committee is W. W. Kraft, superintendent of utilities at the University. Although Norman's water supply problem is not as serious as that faced in most cities of Oklahoma, the citizens' committee is seeking an orderly plan for providing adequately for future water needs. Norman's water supply comes from deep wells.

University faculty members participating in the twenty-first annual meeting of the Southern Social Science Association at Dallas, Texas, were Dr. A. B. Adams, dean of the College of Business Administration, Dr. John H. Leek, professor of government, Clyde J. Bollinger, associate professor of geography, Leslie Hewes, assistant professor of geography, Dr. J. J. Rhyne, director of the School of Social Work, Dr. M. L. Wardell, assistant to the president of the University, and Alan Belden, instructor in geography.

Dr. George L. Cross, head of the botany department, has been elected president of the Faculty Club for the next year. Other new officers are Dr. Gilbert Harold, vice-president; Philip C. Albertson, secretary; Dr. J. Teague Self, treasurer; and Ansel P. Challenner, house chairman.