18 Nominated for Alumni Board

[Association Progress]

NOMINEES for six positions on the executive board of the University of Oklahoma Association were selected last month by a committee appointed by President Hicks Epton, '32law, Wewoka.

Ballot for the election will be printed in the next issue of the Alumni News Issue of the University of Oklahoma Bulletin, and will go to every alumnus whose address is on file in the Alumni Office. Although only members of the association are entitled to vote in the executive board election, any alumnus or former student not already a member may become eligible to vote by joining the association at any time before the deadline on the balloting, which is May 15.

Those appointed to the nominating committee by President Epton are James L. Robinson, Tahlequah, chairman; W. W. Ports, Wichita Falls, Texas; William R. Wolfe, Muskogee; W. Harrington Wimberly, Altus; Dr. Roscoe Walker, Pawhuska; Dr. Ned Burleson, Prague; James H. Van Zant, Enid; Mrs. Effie Battenburg Ralls, Coalgate, and Dennis H. Petty, Wewoka.

Six positions will be filled in the election. These are two members-at-large, and district representatives for Districts One, Five, Seven and Nine. The vote on a representative for District Seven was made necessary by a vacancy, caused by the resignation of Miles G. Tolbert when he moved from Hobart to Oklahoma City.

Nominees for membership-at-large (two to be elected) are as follows: Mrs. Jewell Risinger Ditmars, '19, housewife, Muskogee; Ransome G. Holland, '29eng, engineer, Ponca City; Charles H. Fawks, Jr., '19, banker, Snyder; D. D. Kirkland, '33m.ed, school superintendent, Coalgate; William R. Wolfe, '26eng, '38eng, engineer, Muskogee; and James L. Robinson, '32, '32law, head of the speech department at Northeastern State College, Tahlequah.

District nominees (one to be elected from each district) are as follows:

District One—James A. Strickland, '21pharm, pharmacist, Nowata; Frank S. Horne, '24chem, chemist, Barnsdall; Mrs. Dollie Radler Hall, '20, '21ms, geologist, Tulsa.

District Five—Paul W. Reed, '16ex, automobile dealer, Sulphur; Hal Muldrow, '28bus, insurance man, Norman;

E. D. Freeman, '17eng, utility executive, Oklahoma City.

District Seven—Mrs. Eula Peterson, '35ex, junior college teacher, Altus; W. Neville Gillum, '35law, attorney, Sayre; Finley McLaury, '16law, Snyder.

District Nine—E. H. Black, '19, school superintendent, Bristow; W. Harrington Wimberly, '24, newspaper publisher, Altus; C. C. Ingle, '24, business executive, Tulsa.

New Life Member

Chester A. Reeds, '05, an annual member of the University of Oklahoma Association for many years, changed his type of membership to Life last month. Total number of living Life Members is now 389.

Mr. Reeds is associate curator, American Museum of Natural History, New York City. He has been on the staff of the museum since 1912.

He is the only one of the O. U. graduates of 1905 to become a Life Member of the Association. However, because of the small number in the class, the one membership makes '05 rank 13th among all

the graduating classes in percentage of Life Memberships.

First yearbook needed

The Sooner Magazine office, with the assistance of the University president's office, has recently assembled a file of O. U. yearbooks that is complete with the exception of the very first one published. This was the Mistletoe published in the spring of 1905.

The Alumni Office and magazine staff will greatly appreciate the favor if any alumnus would like to donate a copy of this first yearbook to be kept on file permanently in the *Sooner Magazine* office. Many persons come to this office to consult back issues of the yearbook to obtain information about student activities of past years.

Historical pictures

Apparently little has been done about assembling pictures concerned with history of the University.

Sooner Magazine would like to start a collection of such pictures for use in con-

(PLEASE TURN TO PAGE 23)



Above are the eight chairmen of the 1940 class reunion committees, which last month were busy making plans for reunion events June 2. Top row, left to right, C. Ross Hume, chairman of the 1900 committee; Clarence Reeds, '05; R. W. Hatto, '10; Paul Darrough, '15, also general reunion chairman; below, Ben Arnold, '20; Lee K. Anderson, '25; Lucy Tandy, '30, Bruce Wiley, '35.

Association Progress

(CONTINUED FROM PAGE 5)

nection with observance of the University's Semi-Centennial. If financial problems can be worked out, a pictorial history of the institution's first fifty years

might be published.

A selected group of historical pictures might be placed on permanent exhibition in one of the halls of the Union Building. There they could be viewed by returning alumni, and at the same time give succeeding generations of students some idea of the various stages in the growth of the University.

Each picture sent to the magazine will be carefully labeled with the name of the donor, and will be well taken care of for future use. It would be helpful if the donor would send, along with each picture, a detailed description of what it

shows.

Advisory council changes

Kenneth Hogue, '35law, of Carnegie, is a new member on the Caddo County Advisory Council of the University of Oklahoma Association.

Theodore H. Otteson, of Okemah, has resigned from the Okfuskee County Council because of moving to Oklahoma City, and Dr. Clinton S. Maupin, formerly of Waurika, has left the Jefferson County Council because of moving to Lawton.

Mrs. Billie Wolverton, Cherokee, has been appointed on the Alfalfa County

Council.

New members of the Haskell County Council are Charles L. Ford, '39ma, Mc-Curtain; Kathlyne Garrett, '39nurse, Stigler; Leo Conrad, '24ex, Stigler; and Elizabeth Haisten Snoddy, '39h.ec, Stigler.

New members on the Boston, Massachusetts, council are Theodore Halperin, '33, Boston; and James Hocker, Jr., '37 ms, Mrs. Hocker (Myrtle MacKay, '36), and Jane Lee, '33, all of Cambridge.

Alice H. Williams, '39fa, is a new member at Port Arthur, Texas.

C. Melvin Neal, '31law, is a new mem-

ber of the council at Hobbs, New Mexico.

New members on the council at Baltimore, Maryland, are O. W. Johnson, '02 pharm, Harold W. Gardiner, '25ex, Charles M. Hewett, '31eng, '33ms, and Francile Clark, '37.

New members on the Atlanta, Georgia, council are Mrs. Eugenia Boone Taylor, '37bus, Josiah Sibley, '23, Clarence Musser, '34, '39law, and Paul Jeffries, '39ex.

New members appointed on the council at Jefferson City, Missouri, are Henry William Rollman, '29ms, Charles B. Gillespie, '24pharm, and Mrs. Sue Cook

At Caripito, Venezuela, new council members are Morris R. Pittman, '32eng, Mrs. Helen Falley, '33geol, and Walter W. Butcher, '37geol.

IMAGE IS NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE DUE TO COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS.

A paper copy of this issue is available at call number LH 1 .06S6 in Bizzell Memorial Library.