

CLASS REUNIONS

DATE: May 31

PLACE: Memorial Union Building

CLASSES: '02, '12, '22, '32

'07, '17, '27, '37

THE University's graduating classes whose years end with "2" or "7" will hold five-year reunions in the Memorial Union Building on the campus Sunday afternoon and evening, May 31. The program will be somewhat abridged to fit into the streamlined Commencement plans of the University.

Due to wartime conditions, President Joseph A. Brandt has scheduled the baccalaureate service, usually held on Sunday morning, on Sunday night. The class reunion dinner that evening will be ended early, in time for those attending to go to the baccalaureate service in the Fieldhouse.

President Brandt will himself give the baccalaureate address, a departure from the usual custom of having an outside speaker. Another innovation will be elimination of a formal commencement address on Monday morning when degrees are presented. The commencement exercises will be restricted to presentation of honors and degrees.

Because of the fact that the commencement exercises will begin at 9 a.m. instead of 10 a.m., the annual Commencement Day meeting of the Stadium-Union Trustees has been set at 11 a.m.

Honor class among the eight classes that will hold reunions this spring is the Class of '17, which graduated 25 years ago under circumstances strangely like those of this year. The United States had declared war on the Central Powers only a short time before, and the regular campus routine had been upset by many seniors going into service before school was out.

Albert Clinkscales, later a geologist in Oklahoma City and now in military service for World War II, was president of the Class of '17. Two members of the class—Ernest McFarland who was active in various law school organizations, and Joshua Lee, glee club singer, orator and reader—are now members of the United States Senate, Mr. McFarland from Arizona and Mr. Lee from Oklahoma.

Norman W. Brillhart, baseball player and geologist in the Class of '17, is now an oil man in Madill and was recently president of the Alumni Association. A young man named Don Emery who played on the law school football team is now vice president and general counsel of the Phil-

lips Petroleum Company. A prominent football player and member of various law organizations was Neil R. Johnson, now a rancher and business man in Norman.

The other classes holding reunions May 31 are those of '02, '07, '12, '22, '27, '32 and '37

The general plan is for the various classes to hold separate meetings in assigned rooms of the Memorial Union Building at 2:30 o'clock Sunday afternoon May 31. These will be informal sessions, each arranged according to the wishes of the class committee.

AT 6 o'clock (30 minutes earlier than the original announcement because of the baccalaureate service being set that night), all the reunion visitors will gather in the Union Ballroom for the reunion dinner. Members of all classes, and their families and friends are invited to attend the dinner program. Price per plate will be \$1.00, which includes reunion registration fee and reunion incidental expenses. Reservations must be made in advance, and the deadline has been set as May 25. Special advance arrangements must be made so that members of each class can be seated together at the dinner, and it is important that all those expecting to attend notify Alumni Secretary Ted Beaird well in advance.

The reunion committees of the various classes are as follows:

1902—Kate Barbour, Norman, chairman; Dr. G. A. Applewhite, Shawnee; Clyde Bogle, Norman; Dr. Frank L. Carson, Shawnee; Clay Gilbert,

REUNION WEEKEND

Sunday, May 31

2:30 p.m. Class reunions, Oklahoma Me-

morial Union Building.
6:00 p.m. Reunion Dinner, Union Ballroom.

room. 8:30 p.m. Baccalaureate Address by President Brandt, Fieldhouse.

Monday, June 1

9:00 a.m. Presentation of University Honors and Degrees. 10:45 a.m. Farewell Sing, Class of '42,

North Oval. 11:00 a.m. Stadium-Union Trustees meet-

ing, Union Building.
12:30 p.m. Luncheon for Alumni and Class

of '42, Union Ballroom. 2:30 p.m. Alumni Executive Board meeting, Union Building. Copeland, Kansas; Dean Roy Gittinger, Norman; William G. Grant, Tulsa; Mrs. Florence Williams Hadsell, Norman; O. W. Johnson, Baltimore, Maryland; Constance Madge Wolcott, Chandler.

1907—Mrs. Nell DeGolyer, Dallas, Texas, chairman; William B. Blair, Tulsa; J. W. Bradford, Oklahoma City; Josephine Clarke, Oklahoma City; Mrs. Ollie Briggs Clement, Norman; Charles E. Clifford, Oklahoma City; Mrs. Margaret Van Zandt Goodner, Oklahoma City; Karl H. Kendall, Seminole; Dr. Fenton M. Sanger, Oklahoma City; Mrs. Euline Capshaw Wolf, McAlester.

1912—V. E. Monnett, Norman, chairman; Dr. Ray M. Balyeat, Oklahoma City; Dr. Pauline Q. Barker, Guthrie; Charles R. Bellatti, Stillwater; Dr. Howard S. Browne, Ponca City; Frank Buttram, Oklahoma City; Harry H. Diamond, Holdenville; Earl Foster, Oklahoma City; Dr. Earl McBride, Oklahoma City; Louis Roark, Tulsa.

1917—Mrs. Rosalie Gilkey Dale, Norman, chairman; Gladys Barnes, Norman; Laurence E. Beattie, Ardmore; O. A. Brewer, Hugo; Norman Brillhart, Madill; Mrs. Mary Foster Carpenter, Oklahoma City; Albert S. Clinkscales, Oklahoma City; John Cullen, Ponca City; Mrs. Floy Elliott Cobb, Tulsa; Mrs. Grace Norris Davis, Norman; Harold Gimeno, Oklahoma City; Mrs. Pauline Fischer Grimes, Norman; William C. Herring, Ada; Mrs. Helen Hudgens Hetherington, Norman; Richard L. Huntington, Norman; Neil R. Johnson, Norman; Eugenia K. Kaufman, Norman; Luther W. Kibler, Oklahoma City; J. Wyatt Marrs, Norman; Lewis R. Morris, Oklahoma City; Mrs. Pauly, Tulsa; Justice Fletcher Riley, Oklahoma City; Gordon W. White, Oklahoma City; Mrs. Willie M. Willingham, Oklahoma City.

1922—Ralph H. Records, Norman; Menter G. Baker, Muskogee; Charles B. Duffy, Ponca City; Bryan Griffin, Lawton; L. E. "Jap" Haskell, Norman; Dr. Wendell Long, Oklahoma City; Travis Milsten, Tulsa; Mrs. Florence Monnet McKown, Oklahoma City; Mrs. Dove Montgomery Kull, Oklahoma City; William B. Ragan, Norman.

1927—Wilda Griffin, Norman, chairman; Hardin Ballard, Purcell; Mrs. Julia Wallace Burleson, Prague; J. Phil Burns, Fairview; Buffington B. Burtis, Clinton; Mrs. Jessie Lone Clarkson Gilkey, Chickasha; Mrs. Edna Brockway Muldrow, Weatherford; Mrs. Lucille Farmer Springer, Norman; Mrs. Ruth Champlin Van Zant, Enid; Rex A. Whistler, Norman.

1932—Gene Kendall, Norman, chairman; J. Ernest Baker, Purcell; Tate Fry, Norman; Mrs. Aileen Moore Harris, Okmulgee; J. Arthur Herron, Beggs; Victor E. Holman, Guthrie; Mrs. Gertrude Chilton Jensen, Norman; Suzanne Lasater, Norman; Mrs. Helen Lowry Patten, Edmond; Barker Shirley, Norman.

1937—Mildred Andrews, Norman, chairman; Dr. Curtis Berry, Norman; Mary Olive Carnahan, Pawhuska; Helen Haug, Elgin; Juanita Mae Hines, Norman; C. Joe Holland, Norman; Lonnie D. Huddleston, Norman; Mrs. Hester Jackson Hunter, Chickasha; Genevieve Kern, Norman; Mrs. Mary Jane Bass McPheron, Durant.