Association Progress

The University of Oklahoma Alumni Club of Washington, D. C., was organized as a charter club at a dinner meeting March 3, when Dr. George L. Cross, acting president of the University, was the principal speaker.

Paul A. Walker, '12law, Federal Communications Commissioner, who has been chairman of the O. U. Advisory Council in Washington, D. C., for many years, was elected president of the charter club; Roy St. Lewis, '15law, was elected vice president, and Walter B. Emery was elected secretary-treasurer. Thirty-two alumni and former students signed the petition for an alumni club charter.

A total of nearly 150 persons attended the dinner, including many former faculty members of the University and former students now in uniform of the armed forces. Making his first appearance before Washington alumni since he became acting president January 1, Dr. Cross discussed the University's current problems and the plans being made for meeting postwar educational demands.

Those present were Capt. and Mrs. Kenneth Abernathy, Maj. and Mrs. Carl B. Albert, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Bird, Col. Samuel K. Bird, Mr. and Mrs. Ben Botkin, Mr. and Mrs. Leslie E. Brooking, Ethelyn M. Brown, Lt. Col. and Mrs. C. Guy Brown, Sam Chew, Mr. and Mrs. William L. Clark, Mr. and Mrs. Doyle O. Collup, Lt. Paul B. and Hazel Comstock, Edith Cowan, Dr. George L. Cross, Mr. and Mrs. W. T. Crozier, Mr. and Mrs. John Dalke, Lt. Comdr. Royden Dangerfield, Judge Richard L. Disney, Congressman and Mrs. Wesley Disney, Dean Homer L. Dodge, Mr. and Mrs. Howard O. Eaton, Patricia Elliott, Mr. and Mrs. Walter B. Emery, Mr. and Mrs. Anton Erickson, Edward A. Evans, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Everett, John B. Ewing, Mrs. Norma Fischer, T. Jane Foster, Mr. and Mrs. Fritz Frauchiger, Mrs. Louise W. Getchell, Myron Warren Getchell, Mr. and Mrs. Allen B. Gibson, Dr. and Mrs. Elgin Groseclose, Mr. and Mrs. Maurice Halperin, Maj. and Mrs. G. Scott Hammond, Clyde Hamm, Maj. and Mrs. Bryce Harlow, Mr. and Mrs. James Harlow, Forrest K. Harris, Mr. and Mrs. Luther J. Holcomb, Mrs. Mildred Hosford, James W. Hosford, Capt. C. L. Hunt, Frances Hunt, Ruth Irby, Congressman Jed Johnson, Wesley Kitchens, Mr. and Mrs. Albert G. Kulp, Mr. and Mrs. Josh Lee and daughter, Vi Lesch, Elwood Maple, Addie Martin, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Martin, Maj. Glen McDonald, Lt. and Mrs. Bob McKinney, Mr. and Mrs. Burr Mc-Whirt, Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Melvin, Lt. and Mrs. Lionel Murphy.

Willard Z. Park, Mr. and Mrs. C. N. Paxton, Sue Rainbolt, Hugh Randall, Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Rhoads, Harry B. Rutledge, Col. and Mrs. Karl D. Reyer, Mr. and Mrs.

Edwin Sees, Lt. Col. Robert Shuman, Dr. Floyd Simon, Helen Slentz, Mr. and Mrs. Ellis R. Smith, Mr. and Mrs. Herschell L. Smith, Mr. and Mrs. Philip F. Smith, Capt. and Mrs. W. E. Stecker, Lt. Col. and Mrs. Wayne Starkey, Malvina Stephenson, Lt. Comdr. Margaret B. Stephenson, Mr. and Mrs. Roy St. Lewis, Warren and Mrs. Thornthwaite, Elizabeth Moore de la Torre, Mrs. Edith Townes, Mr. and Mrs. Paul A. Walker, Congressman Victor Wickersham, Capt. F. W. Winn, Robert Wood, Mr. and Mrs. R. B. Yadon.

Board Nominees to Be Voted On

Nominees for six positions on the Executive Board of the Alumni Association to be filled in the annual mail ballot ending May 15 were selected at a meeting of the nominating committee March 3.

The nominees for the five vacancies caused by expiration of regular three-year terms on the Board are:

For Members-at-Large (two to be elected) William F. Absher, '20ba, Bartlesville geologist; Mrs. Jessie Lone Clarkson Gilkey, '27fa, Chickasha homemaker; Travis Milsten, '22ba, Tulsa lawyer and president of the Law School Alumni Association; C. V. Nichols, '14bs, Anadarko pharmacist; Mrs. Lorraine Coppedge Oakes, '26ba, Oklahoma City homemaker; and Anna K. Swinney, '43fa, Durant High School voice teacher.

District II—E. C. Lambert, '10, Okmulgee insurance dealer; Vivien I. McConnell, '41law, Muskogee law clerk; and Jim Robinson, '32ba, '32law, Tahlequah, head of Speech Department, Northeastern State College.

District IV—Dr. E. M. Gullatt, '28ba, '32med, Ada physician; Robert D. Howell, '26ba, '28law, Holdenville District Judge; and Joe Lee, '31ba, Shawnee radio executive.

District VII—Bernice Baker, '23, Hobart business woman; Lylith Medbery, '44bs, Clinton business woman; and Paul Pearson, '23, Altus pharmacist.

District VIII—J. Phil Burns, '27ba, Fairview business man; Maj. William V. Cox, '21ba, '24ma, Ponca City school head; and George Spraberry, '24bs, '27m.ed, Perry superintendent of schools.

There is a vacancy to be filled in District VIII because of the resignation of James H. Van Zant, Enid, who has moved his residence to Fort Worth, Texas. The three nominees for election to fill out Mr. Van Zant's unexpired term are J. Phil Burns, William V. Cox, and George Spraberry.

Members of the nominating committee appointed by President T. R. Benedum were George D. Hann, '36ed, Ardmore; Mrs. Arthur Lory Morris Rakestraw, '39law, Oklahoma City; W. D. Grisso, '26ba, '28law, Oklahoma City; Merle Wood, '17ba,

El Reno; and Hicks Epton, '32law, Wewoka.

The 18 nominees selected for the election this year represent 18 different cities scattered throughout the state; they represent 16 different classes, ranging from the Class of '10 to Class of '44; they represent a good variety of occupations; six of them are women alumnae; and eight of them are life members of the Alumni Association.

The ballot is being printed early this year in hopes that many of the more than 600 members of the Association overseas in the armed forces will have time to vote in the election.

Awards for Law Students

Announcement was made last month of the establishment of three scholarships to be awarded annually to students in the O. U. School of Law.

Two of the awards will be cash prizes—one in the amount of \$100 and a second in the amount of \$50—to be presented to students writing the best and next best selected treatises on a subject in the field of property or savings and loan law.

These two prizes were established by the Oklahoma Savings and Loan League at the suggestion of Travis I. Milsten, '22ba, president of the Law School Association and a member of the State Legal Advisory Committee of the League.

The third scholarship will be a cash award of \$50 to be presented the outstanding student in the senior law class to be selected by the faculty. This prize will be known as the "Law School Association Award," Mr. Milsten said, and will be offered for the school year 1944-45.

Mr. Milsten also announced that the Vocational Guidance Committee of the Law School Association has arranged a counseling program by which members will meet with parents of students interested in enrolling in Law School, and other persons seeking information.

Visitors

Servicemen being transferred to new stations stopped by the Alumni Office last month en route to their posts of duty.

Visitors included Lt. Seth S. (Jerry) King, '42letters, Camp Butner, North Carolina; Lt. Edward O. Brennan, '38-'41, Texarkana, Texas; Lt. George Burkett, '41ba, Fort George Meade, Maryland; Mrs. Vida M. Roberts. Broken Bow.

Roberts, Broken Bow.

John R. Boyle, Jr., '38ba, specialist third class in the Navy, Woodward; Barbara Ann Christian, '43ba, stewardess with American Airlines, Oklahoma City; Ensign Jack Yocum, '43ed, Maysville, Oklahoma; Aviation Cadet Robert Kinnebrew, '41-'43, Pauls Valley

Cpl. Fred Furber, Kirkwood, Missouri; Lt. (jg) Jack Mascho, '40bus, and Mrs. Mascho (Ruth Goodson, '40bus), New Orleans, Louisiana; Lt. Edward E. Dale, '42ba, of the Field Artillery; Lt. (jg) Harrell McCullough, '35bus, and Pvt. Edward E. Soule, '40-'43, formerly with the Army Specialized Training Program at Commerce, Texas.