IMAGE IS NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE DUE TO COPYRIGHT RE-STRICTIONS.

A paper copy of this issue is available at call number LH 1 .06S6 in Bizzell Memorial Library.

Association Progress

ORGANIZATION of the University of Oklahoma Alumni Club of Okmulgee, Oklahoma, last month brought the total of alumni charter clubs to nine.

Officers elected by the Okmulgee group are A. N. Boatman, '16law, president; Jewell Rone, '33fa, vice president, and Rosalie Long, '40ba, secretary-treasurer.

Earlier in March a petition for an alumni club charter was received from Sooners in Washington, D. C. Thirty-two alumni and former students signed the petition.

Paul A. Walker, '12law, Federal Communications Commissioner, who has been chairman of the O. U. Advisory Council in Washington, D. C., for many years was elected president; Roy St. Lewis, '15 law, vice president, and Walter B. Emery, '34law, secretary-treasurer.

Alumni in Wewoka organized the seventh alumni club. Officers of that group are Raymond Reed, '40law, Wewoka attorney; J. R. Frazier, '24ba, '32 m.ed, superintendent of schools, vice president, and Mrs. Pliny Frye, '21, secretary-treasurer.

The sixth alumni charter club set up was organized in Honolulu, Hawaii, under the leadership of Ernie Hoberecht, '41journ, editor of the *Pearl Harbor Bulletin*, who was elected president. Other officers are James H. Tabor, '39law, Checotah, vice president, and Mrs. Elizabeth Ball Carr, '24ba, '40ma, secretary-treasurer.

The club with the largest membership was organized in Oklahoma City as the fifth alumni group to submit a petition for charter. President of the Oklahoma City Alumni Club is Kermit Hardwick, '29bus.

The first four clubs include St. Louis, Missouri, E. J. Merritt, '33law, president; Wichita, Kansas, C. C. Counts, '27, president; Fiji Islands of the Southwest Pacific, Col. Lee B. Thompson, '27law, president, and Altus, Oklahoma, Harrington Wimberly, '24ba, president.

Wichita Charter Presented

Thirty-five Sooner alumni attended a dinner and meeting of the University of Oklahoma Alumni Club of Wichita, Kansas, March 30. The Wichita Club was the second organized under the Alumni Association's new charter club plan.

H. E. Wrinkle, '22ba, '31m.ed, state service director for the University, spoke at the meeting and presented the official club charter to the president, C. C. Counts, '27. Mr. Wrinkle also gave a brief report of state and University news and the progress of the University of Oklahoma Association.

He learned that there were some thousand Oklahomans in Wichita and that most of them plan to return to Oklahoma when the war is over. He also reported being agreeably surprised at the large number of University alumni whose native state is Kansas and whose home is Wichita.

During the business meeting, the constitution and by-laws of the club were read and approved and an annual membership fee of \$2.00 was adopted. Jacqueline Webb, '42ba, club secretary, reported that the meeting brought forth the largest attendance since the club was organized.

Ballots Due May 15

Mail ballots bearing names of 18 nominees for six positions on the Executive Board of the Alumni Association were sent last month to the association members. Voting will end May 15.

Association members who have not received ballots will be sent them on request from the Alumni Office. The nominees for the five vacancies caused by expiration of regular three-year terms on the Board are:

For Members-at-Large (two to be elected) William F. Absher, '20ba, Bartlesville geologist; Mrs. Jessie Lone Clarkson Gilkey, '27fa, Chickasha homemaker; Travis Milsten, '22ba, Tulsa lawyer and president of the Law School Alumni Association; C. V. Nichols, '14bs, Anadarko pharmacist; Mrs. Lorraine Coppedge Oakes, '26ba, Oklahoma City homemaker; and Anna K. Swinney, '43fa, Durant High School voice teacher.

District II—E. C. Lambert, '10, Okmulgee insurance dealer; Vivien I. McConnell, '41law, Muskogee law clerk; and Jim Robinson, '32ba, '32law, Tahlequah, head of Speech Department, Northeastern State College.

District IV—Dr. E. M. Gullatt, '28ba, '32med, Ada physician; Robert D. Howell, '26ba, '28law, Holdenville District Judge; and Joe Lee, '31ba, Shawnee radio executive.

District VII—Bernice Baker, '23, Hobart business woman; Lylith Medbery, '44bs, Clinton business woman; and Paul Pearson, '23, Altus pharmacist.

District VIII—J. Phil Burns, '27ba, Fairview business man; Maj. William V. Cox, '21ba, '24ma, Ponca City school head; and George Spraberry, '24bs, '27m.ed, Perry superintendent of schools.

There is a vacancy to be filled in District VIII because of the resignation of James H. Van Zant, Enid, who has moved his residence to Fort Worth, Texas. The three nominees for election to fill out Mr. Van Zant's unexpired term are J. Phil Burns, William V. Cox, and George Spraberry.