Association Progress

Hal Muldrow, Jr.

Insurance of all Kinds Bonds

Security National Bank Bldg.

Norman

IMAGE IS NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE DUE TO COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS.

A paper copy of this issue is available at call number LH 1 .06S6 in Bizzell Memorial Library.

GEORGE HANN, '36m.ed, superintendent of schools at Ardmore, was elected president of the Alumni Association at the annual meeting of the executive board of the Association on June 24. He succeeds T. R. Benedum, '28law, Norman attorney.

Other officers elected by the board were Harold Belknap, '25ba, Norman publisher, first vice-president, and Maj. William Cox, '21ba, '24ma, commandant of the Ponca City Military Academy, second vice-president. T. M. Beaird, '21ba, Norman, was re-elected executive secretary and manager. Mr. Belknap, not previously a member of the board, was elected direct from the Association membership.

Mary Louise Stubbeman, '45bus, Norman, was named to represent the Class of '45 on the advisory council to the executive board.

A proposal to include a Shrine Room honoring alumni killed in World War II in the planned extension of the Oklahoma Memorial Union Building on the University campus was unanimously approved by the board. To be sponsored by voluntary contributions, the room would contain a picture of every O.U. alumnus killed in service, pictures of medals and engraved copies of citations awarded to alumni.

The board appointed a committee of twenty-five to organize plans for the Shrine Room and collect funds for it, under the supervision of Mr. Beaird. Proposals concerning the room have been referred to the Board of Governors of the Union Building and to President George L. Cross for final action by the University of Oklahoma Foundation.

Mr. Benedum made the annual report to the executive board on the year's work of the Association as retiring president. Topics covered in his report included Sooner Magazine and its plans for postwar publication of a complete directory of alumni who served in the armed forces, and the expansion of alumni organization

through the charter club plan. Mr. Benedum stated that 22 charter clubs have been formed since November, 1943, 12 of them this year. Formation of 12 more charter clubs is under way.

Present at the board meeting was President Cross, who conferred with members for several hours, discussing future plans for the University and ways in which the Alumni Association can be of service.

Members of the executive board are as follows: Harry D. Simmons, '24ba, Stillwater; Vernon Cook, '26law, Oklahoma City; Earle S. Porter, '11ba, '12ma, Tulsa; C. V. Nichols, '14pharm, '14bs, '17ba, Anadarko; William F. Absher, '20ba, Bartlesville; D. E. Hodges, '27law, Bartlesville; James L. Robinson, '32law, Tahlequah; Joe A. Brown, '20law, Hartshorne; James R. Frazier, '24ba, '32m.ed, Wewoka; Fred E. Tarman, '10ba, Norman; Dr. Roy C. Warren, '28med, Yukon; Mrs. June Baker Durkee, '42fa, Mangum; Major Cox; Merle Woods, '17ba, El Reno, and Mr. Benedum.

The advisory council to the executive board, made up of representatives of the last ten graduating classes, consists of the following: Capt. James C. Hamill, '36law, overseas; Lt. William H. Miley, '37law, Arlington, Virginia; Earl Westmoreland, '38ba, Tallahassee, Florida; Kenneth Harris, '39ba, Oklahoma City; Lt. Andy Crosby, Jr., '41law, overseas; Lt. George McDermitt, '42eng, Springfield, Illinois; Mrs. Richard L. Virtue (Sue Starr, '43soc.wk), Oklahoma City; Betty Abbott, '44bus, Durant, and Miss Stubbeman.

Trustees of the Life Membership Fund of the Alumni Association are Errett R. Newby, '07bm, '08ba, Oklahoma City; Tom F. Carey, '08ba, Oklahoma City, and Neil R. Johnson, '17law, Norman. Alumni representatives on the Athletic Council are Norman Brillhart, '17ba, Madill, Mr. Johnson, and Granville T. Norris, '29ba, Muskogee.



GEORGE D. HANN



HAROLD BELKNAP



MAT. WILLIAM V. COX