

Business managers Wayne Quinlin (seated left) and Mack Easley (right) discuss coming Celebrity Series programs with Dean Lewis S. Salter (center), chairman of the Celebrity Series committee.

Celebrity Series Starts Anew

Organized a year ago for the culture of the University student body and faculty—and at prices low enough to fit into everyone's budget—the Celebrity Series is now beginning its second season with the Hollywood Skating Revels, a ballet on roller skates which is to be held at the University Field House on November 7.

The second attraction is the Footlight Favorites, a mixed quartet consisting of Adelaide Abbott, musical comedy favorite; Lucielle Browning, Metropolitan Opera contralto; Edward Kane, well-known light opera star, and John Brownlee, Metropolitan Opera bass-baritone. This group will appear in a program of quartets, duets, and solos from operettas and from recent and current Broadway successes, "Oklahoma!" and "Carousel."

Programs scheduled for next year include Alec Templeton, famous blind radio pianist and entertainer; Conrad Thibeault, popular concert and radio baritone; the Gordon String Quartet to be assisted by Lois Bannerman, harpist, and the Oklahoma State Symphony Orchestra conducted by Victor Allessandro.

Each of the numbers will play a one night stand, and performances will be open only to persons who subscribe to the Celebrity Series by purchasing a season ticket. No single admissions will be sold. Reason for this is to save payment of a 20 percent tax—which the Celebrity Series is passing on to patrons, Dean Lewis Salter, Celebrity Series Committee chairman, said.

Members of the Celebrity Series Committee include Dean Salter, Dr. Glenn C. Couch, Marguerite Smith, assistant counselor of women, and Betty Yarger and Sam Laird, Student Senate representatives. Mack Easley and Wayne Quinlin were hired as business managers by the committee.

The University of Oklahoma library, which has a capacity of 350,000 volumes, has seven stories of steel stacks.

O.U. Adds 26 Alumni to Faculty

Many University graduates have returned to the campus to assume administrative and clerical duties at the University following their recent appointments by the Board of Regents.

They are: Marguerite Thelma Smith, '43soc.wk, '46ms, assistant counselor of women; Mrs. Zazel Sloniger, '12ma, admissions assistant, office of admissions and records; Mrs. Vivian Saunkeah Davis, '42bus, clerical stenographer, department of zoological sciences; Betty Beckett Brown, '44ba, assistant director in charge of student placement; Mrs. Marjorie Trent Janssen, '43ba, secretary and supervisor of public relations, radio station WNAD.

John B. Freeman, '42bus, head of department of short courses and conferences, extension division; Charles Nedwin Hockman, '41-'42, assistant, photography department, extension division; Mrs. La-Verna McMenamy, '46bus, clerical secretary, office of the dean of the college of fine arts; Marian Louise Mowry, '46ba, clerical stenographer, School of Architecture; Susanne Lasater, '23ba, '32ma, assistant professor of secondary education, transferred to the department of English as assistant professor of English; Dorothy Defenbaugh, '42h.ec, dietician in the University housing and messing program given the rank of special lecturer in home economics, and John H. Kuhlman, '30-'34, was appointed assistant superintendent of the South Campus (N.A.T.T.C.).

Fuller Keller Fears, '44ce, assistant professor of civil engineering; Robert Dewey McKnelly, '33ma, special instructor in mathematics; Mary Elizabeth Steen, '43ba, instructor in speech; Lydia Dorothea Haag, '26ba, instructor in English; William Albert Lutker, '42ed, assistant in education; Sarah Hovis, '39ba, instructor in kindergarten, Wilburn Holt Akers, '41geol, half-time instructor in geology; Norman Francis Williams, '39geol.eng, instructor in geology; John Wilmont Mayes, '41geol, half-time instructor in geology; John Hill Speer, '37geol, instructor in geology; James Powell Huie, '41ba, half-time instructor in geology; Amos Daniel Whitten, Jr., '43geol, assistant instructor in geology; and Mrs. Ruth B. Pafford, '36fa, instructor in speech.

Resignations were accepted from Anne Ethelyn Markley, '31lib.sci, assistant professor of library science; Ruth Ferris, '30ba, special assistant professor of journalism; Jean McDonald, '45bus, secretary, department of English; Myra B. Brown, '40ed, secretary, comptroller's office; John Malone, '37ba, director of short courses and conferences, Extension Division.

Dr. John Y. Battenfield, '34bs, '37md, director, student health service; Marguerite Smith, '43ba, '46ms, senior psychometrist, University Guidance Service; Dr. Marvin S. Terrell, '40bs, '42md, physician, student health service.



Dr. A. O. WEESE

Weese Named Temporary Dean

Dr. A. O. Weese, professor of zoology, has been appointed temporary dean of the graduate school.

He succeeds Dr. V. E. Monnett, who asked to be relieved of a portion of his administrative duties. In addition to his duties as acting dean of the Graduate School, Dr. Monnett has served as director of the University Research Institute and director of the School of Geology.

and director of the School of Geology.

Dr. Weese joined the University staff in 1924 as professor of zoology. He holds a B. A. degree from the University of Minnesota and M. A. and Ph. D. degrees from the University of Illinois.

Before joining the University faculty, Dr. Weese was professor of biology at the University of New Mexico for 11 years and at James Millikin University, Decatur, Illinois, for two years.

Hal Muldrow, Jr.

Insurance of all Kinds Bonds

Security National Bank Bldg.

Norman

IMAGE IS NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE DUE TO COPYRIGHT RE-STRICTIONS.

A paper copy of this issue is available at call number LH 1 .06S6 in Bizzell Memorial Library.