IMAGE IS NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE DUE TO COPY-RIGHT RESTRICTIONS.

A paper copy of this issue is available at call number LH 1 .06S6 in Bizzell Memorial Library.

The Men (of 1947) 'Behind the Union'

For 32 years, the Oklahoma Memorial Union has stood for friendliness, hospitality and the meeting place for old college pals. But the Union is even more than this. To University students, faculty members and alumni, it is an institution.

Guiding this institution is a group of 16 men who are members of the Oklahoma Memorial Union Board of Governors, Thirteen members of the Board are elected annually by University alumni, faculty and the Board of Regents; the remaining three

are members ex-officio.

President of the Board of Governors is A. N. "Jack" Boatman, '14ba, '16law, Okmulgee lawyer. First vice-president is Lee B. Thompson, '25ba, '27law, Oklahoma City lawyer, and treasurer is R. W. Hutto, '10ba, banker of Norman. Other members include Dr. E. D. Meacham, '14ba, dean of the University College of Arts and Sciences; Frank S. Cleckler, '21ba, Veterans Administration Chief in Oklahoma City; Raymond A. Tolbert, '12ba, '13law, Oklahoma City lawyer; Fisher Muldrow, '22, business man of Seminole; Owen Townsend, '40ba, '40law, lawyer of Marietta and Oklahoma City: Norman Brillhart, '17ba, geologist-banker of Madill: Hicks Epton, '32law, Wewoka lawyer; Jack Luttrell, '38ba, '41law, Norman lawyer; Menter Baker, Jr., '42bus, of the Oklahoma City Chamber of Com-merce; and Paul Reed, '16, Sulphur automobile dealer.

Dr. George L. Cross, president of the University of Oklahoma; Maj. William V. Cox, '21ba, '24ma, Ponca City, president of the University of Oklahoma Association, and W. R. Wallace, '10, Oklahoma City, president of the University Board of Regents, are ex-officio members of the Union Board

of Governors.

Formulation of policies for the Oklahoma Memorial Union Corporation is the major responsibility of the Board of Governors. These policies maintain the high standard of Union Cafeteria food, give the Union Ballroom, Lounge and gameroom a pleasant atmosphere and enhance a multitude of other services and activities, which make the Oklahoma Memorial Union an institu-

The Board of Governors, under the Articles of Incorporation, are authorized to set up a Board of Managers with full managerial functions to carry forward the details of the Union operations. This Executive Committee, acting for the Board of Governors, is composed of three Alumni members of the Board of Governors, namely Mr. Meacham, Mr. Hutto, and Mr. Lut-trell; Ted Beaird, Union Manager, who is also secretary of the Corporation Board; Paul MacMinn, Director of O. U. Student Affairs Commission; Jim McNeeley, President of the O. U. Student Senate; and Charles Ward, Editor of the Oklahoma Daily. Thus under this Executive Committee, acting for the Board of Governors, the Alumni, student body, and the State citizenship is represented in the functioning of the Memorial plant dedicated to the men of World War I and II who lost their lives in those two world conflicts.

So when thinking of the Union, remember that group of 16 genial men—(plus their Board of Managers)—the Board of Governors—who are "behind the Union."

Oklahoma Memorial Union

University of Oklahoma, Norman