

Nine of the ten members of the official 1948 Nominating Committee appointed by Hal Muldrow, Jr., president of the University of Oklahoma Association, assembled in the Biltmore Hotel in Oklahoma City early in April to select twelve nominees for the Alumni Board Ballot. Thirty thousand ballots containing the names of the nominees have been mailed to O.U. alumni world-wide. From left to right, standing, are Grover Strother, '20ba, Oklahoma City; Menter Baker, Jr., '42bus, Oklahoma City (substituting for Jim Miller, '34ba, '34law, Shawnee, who was unable to attend); J. Don Garrison, '39bs, Norman, and Elmer L. Fraker, '20ba, '38ma, Oklahoma City. Seated, left to right, are Merle Woods, '17ba, El Reno; Dudley Culp, '34law, Wewoka; Ted Beaird, '21ba, Norman; Muldrow, '28bus, Norman, and George Stroud, '28, Guthrie. Duties at the O.U. Medical School prevented the attendance of Dr. John Lamb, '28ba, '32med, the tenth member.

Institute Officers Chosen

Newly elected president of the University of Oklahoma Research Institute is Dr. G. G. Oberfell, Bartlesville, who is vice-president and director of research for Phillips Petroleum Company. Elected as vice-president was Robert H. Dott, Norman, director of the Oklahoma Geological Survey.

Elected to the board of directors were Gov. Roy Turner; Paul A. Walker, '12law, Washington, D. C., chairman of the Federal Communications Commission; Harrington Wimberley, Washington, D. C., Federal Power Commission member; E. K. Gaylord, Oklahoma City, and Warren Gifford, Fayetteville, Arkansas, head of the University of Arkansas department of animal husbandry.

Also E. L. DeGolyer, '11ba, Dallas, Texas, president of the Atlas Oil Company; John Zink, '17ba, Tulsa, president of Zink Burner Manufacturing Company; Dr. Coyne Campbell, '24ba, Oklahoma City; Earl S. Porter, '11ba, '12ma, Tulsa, vice-president of Amerada Petroleum Company, and D. A. McGee, Oklahoma City, vice-president of Kerr-McGee oil industry.

Homer Dunlap, '32bus, Oklahoma City, president of Sinclair Lime Company; W. A. Delaney, Jr., Ada stockman; A. L. Burwell, Norman, chemical engineer of Oklahoma Geological Survey; John Rogers, '14law, Tulsa attorney; Dr. Royden J. Dangerfield, executive vice-president of the University of Oklahoma, and Ned Shepler, '18, Lawton, publisher.

Also Dr. M. R. Everett, dean of the University of Oklahoma Medical School; O. U. Regent Lloyd Noble, '21, Ardmore oilman; Regent President E. E. Deacon, '21eng, Cushing; Dr. George L. Cross, president of Oklahoma University; Dr. Laurence H. Snyder, dean of the O.U. graduate school; Dr. Robert H. Dott, and Dr. Oliver Benson, '32ba, '33 ma, chairman of the University's government department.

Serving on the executive committee of the Institute for the coming year are Dr. Oberfell, Dr. Cross, Mr. Porter and Mr. Dott, all of whom were

re-elected. Fifth man named to the committee was D. Z. McGee.

New members of the Institute are S. B. Irelan, Oklahoma City, president of Cities Service Gas Company; A. L. Burwell, chemical engineer of the Oklahoma Geological Survey, and Neil Johnson, '15ba, '17law, rancher, both of Norman; J. P. Walker, Tulsa, president of the National Tank Company, and Holmes Baldridge, '25ba, Wash-

ington, D. C., assistant U. S. attorney general.

Re-elected were Earl Bartholomew, '21ba, '22 eng, '23ms, Detroit, Michigan, director of Ethlyn Corporation; Harold Vagtborg, Kansas City, Missouri, director of Mid-Western Research Institute; George C. Smith, '08ba, president of the St. Louis, Missouri, chamber of commerce; Dr. G. G. Oberfell, and David E. Fields, Tulsa, vice-president of the Tulsa Boiler and Machine Company.



Homer R. Heck, '35, director with NBC in Chicago, and Mrs. Heck, the former Mildred DeBaun, '29-'30, visited the campus and many former University associates early in April. Mr. Heck formerly was operational manager of the Oklahoma Memorial Union and director of University station WNAD.

Above the Hecks are shown with a number of friends at one of the many courtesies extended them during their visit, a dinner party in the home of Dr. Alice Sowers, director of O.U.'s family Life Institute. Standing, left to right, are Roscoe Cate, '26ba; Mrs. Cate (Francis Mitchell, '30ba); Dr. Sowers; Mrs. Jim Mayfield; Boyd Gunning, '37ba, '37law; Mrs. J. F. Malone, and Jim Mayfield, '28ba. Left to right, seated, are the guests of honor; Mrs. Boyd Gunning; Mrs. Christie Black Cathey, '33lib.sci; J. Bruce Wiley, '33eng, '41m.eng; Mrs. Nona Wiley, '37, and J. F. "Maj" Malone, '37ba, of Oklahoma City.