

From Classrooms To the Capitol

Sooner Magazine's official staff photographer stepped into the Senate Dining Room at the nation's capitol early in March to take action shots of a number of prominent O.U. alums—officers in the field of public school administration in Oklahoma, Oklahoma congressional delegates, and officers of the Washington O.U. Alumni Club.

The occasion for the big Sooner assembly in Washington was the national convention of the National Association of State School Administrators held in Atlantic City. The special luncheon in the Senate Dining Room was sponsored jointly by the congressional delegation and the O.U. Alumni Club for some 62 Oklahoma school administrators.

Principal speakers at the luncheon were Congressman W. G. "Bill" Stigler, chairman of the Oklahoma delegation, and Oklahoma's Senior Senator Elmer Thomas.

Following the luncheon, an organized tour of the entire capital city and surrounding territory was conducted prior to the 6 p.m. deadline when the 62 educators reported back to their special train enroute to Oklahoma.

Oklahoma educators who made a special tour of Atlantic City, New York, Philadelphia and Washington were: Paul Allen, superintendent, Pauls Valley; Elbert Costner, superintendent, Poteau; Roy Emans, State Capitol Building, Oklahoma City; J. R. Frazier, superintendent, Wewoka; Omer Rowe, county superintendent, Ardmore; Ted Beaird, Norman; W. H. Clasby, Oklahoma City.

Joe McKinnis, Marietta; Harvey Black, Oklahoma City; D. D. Kirkland, superintendent, McAlester; Jess Martin, superintendent, Nowata; G. M. Roberts, superintendent, Bartlesville; O. W. Davison, superintendent, Durant; Frank Hess, Drumright; Frank Pauly, Tulsa.

George Hooper, Tulsa; Ferman Phillips, manager of the Oklahoma Educational Association, Oklahoma City; Elmer Cecil, superintendent, Weatherford; Henry Rinsland, University of Oklahoma, Norman; C. E. Crooks, superintendent, Guthrie; Dion C. Wood, superintendent, Duncan; D. Edna Jones, superintendent, Seminole.

Harold Toas, Limestone Gap School, Kiowa; George Hann, superintendent, Ardmore; Mrs. D. D. Kirkland, McAlester; G. A. Godfrey, superintendent, Pryor; W. Max Chambers, Okmulgee; R. R. Russell, superintendent, Stillwater; E. E. Sowers, Drumright.

H. W. Morris, Tulsa; R. L. McLean, Anadarko; C. M. Howell, Oklahoma City; F. R. Born, Central High School, Oklahoma City; Gilbert Robinson, Taft Junior High School, Oklahoma City; W. H. Taylor, Classen High School, Oklahoma City; Merle Burr, Oklahoma City; Alex Higdon, Capitol Hill Junior High School, Oklahoma City; C. E. Grady, Foster High School, Oklahoma City; J. L. Powers, Webster Junior High School, Oklahoma City.

W. B. Graham, Jackson Junior High School, Oklahoma City; B. Ben Brown, Harding Junior High School, Oklahoma City; Guy Curry, 314 Oklahoma Natural Building, Oklahoma City; Dr. H. B. Bruner, superintendent of schools, Oklahoma City; B. R. Nichols, superintendent, Bristow; Harry D. Simmons, superintendent, Muskogee, J. Win Payne, superintendent, Ponca City; James L. Prince, superintendent, Sapulpa; Oscar V. Rose, superintendent, Midwest City Branch, Oklahoma City.



В



С

PICTURE A—Seated, left to right: Mrs. Patricia Mannen, '34bs, president O.U. Alumni Club, Washington, D. C.; R. L. McLean, '38m.ed, superintendent of schools at Anadarko and member of the State Board of Education; Mrs. Elizabeth Bascom, '22-'24, secretary O.U. Alumni Club, Washington. Standing, left to right: Walter B. Emery, '34law, former president of the O.U. Alumni Club, Washington; Harry Wimberly, '24ba, member of the Federal Power Commission, Altus-Washington; and Elbert L. Costner, '29ba, '34ma, superintendent of schools at Poteau and member of the State Board of Education.

PICTURE B—Seated, left to right: Congressman George Schwabe, Tulsa; Congressman Bill Stigler, '16, Stigler; Senator Elmer Thomas, Lawton. Standing: Dr. Oliver Hodge, '33m.ed, '37ph.d, state superintendent of public instruction, Tulsa-Oklahoma City; D. D. Kirkland, '33m.ed, superintendent of Mc-Alester schools and president of the Oklahoma Educational Association.

PICTURE C—Seated, left to right: Mrs. Patricia Mannen; Commissioner Paul Walker, '12law, Federal Communications Commission; Congressman George Schwabe; Congressman Bill Stigler; Senator Elmer Thomas. Standing: Congressman Ross Rizley, Guymon; Congressman Mike Monroney, '24ba, Oklahoma City; Congressman Toby Morris, Lawton; Congressman Carl Albert, '31ba, McAlester; Congressman Preston E. Peden, '36ba, '39law, Altus; and Max Chambers, '21ba, '29m.ed, Okmulgee, National Educational Association representative from Oklahoma. PICTURE D—Seated, left to right: Clyde Howell, '15ba, '36 m.ed, Edmond-Oklahoma City, secretary Oklahoma Education Association; Ferman Phillips, manager, Oklahoma Education Association, Atoka-Oklahoma City. Standing: James R. Frazier, '24ba, '32m.ed, superintendent of schools, Wewoka, and longtime executive-secretary of the State School Administrators' Association of Oklahoma.

D

