











Senior Day Awards

Seniors were honored in late May at an Awards Day assembly in the amphitheater and Engineering Auditorium. Outstanding students received recognition in their various fields. Pictured here are some of those receiving awards. Some were unable to attend the assembly, and received their awards in absentia.

- 1. Bill E. Forney, Letzeiser Gold Medal award winner.
- Sigma Delta Chi scholarship awards in the School of Journalism are given to, left to right, Bob Henry, Frances Sands, Thelma Randle and Bette Yarger.
- 3. School of Education awards go to, seated left to right, Dorothy June Brown, Jo Alair Chrisman and Azalee Kathryn Snyder. Standing left to right are Alvin W. Plaster, Robert B. Bailey, Joseph Taylor, Jr., and Ben Males.
- 4. Bronze and Silver Letzeiser winners are left to right, Marjorie Sloan, Howard I. Friedman and Norma Jane Weir.
- 5. Allen G. Marr is receiver of the Phi Sigma Award as outstanding zoology student.
- 6. David Rogers received the men's Bronze Letzeiser Medal.
- 7. Left to right are Gayle Bainum, Dorothy Dengler, Wendell Fore and Mary Gold Neal, who received awards from the School of Fine Arts.
- 8. Virginia Clark, left, recipient of the Ellsworth-Duncan Award for achievement in music, chats with the donor, Mrs. Eva Dunagen.
- 9. Martin F. Bednar, center, received the Delta Sigma Pi gold key as outstanding senior man in the School of Business Administration. He also received the first place award presented by the Oklahoma Association of Certified Public Accountants. Imogene McCabe, left, received second prize, and Mrs. Mary Lee Jones, right, third place.
- 10. Hunter McMurray received the Letzeiser Gold Medal for women.













- 11. Hollis Haney, left, was awarded for outstanding scholarship in the field of library science. Doris Hutchinson, right, received the Chi Omega prize in sociology.
- 12. Bobby J. Dunham receives the Norman Brill-hart award given to the outstanding geology student from Dean E. D. Meacham who made presentations.
- 13. Allen Lawrence, recipient of the Alpha Epsilon Delta Award to the outstanding pre-med student, poses for the *Sooner* camera.
- 14. A. Marion Smith, extreme right, member of the Senior Day Committee, and Roscoe Cate, '26ba, University vice-president, seated next to Smith, listen attentively to admonitions for seniors at the Senior Day Luncheon.
- 15. Left to right, Sally Teegardin, Frank Ely, and R. Boyd Gunning, '37ba, '37law, director of Oklahoma Foundation, attend the luncheon.
- 16. President Cross, left; Miss Dorothy Truex, counselor of women, and Paul MacMinn, dean of students, observe awards presentations.
- 17. Journalism award winners are left to right, Bette Yarger, outstanding journalism senior coed; Sue Smith, Gamma Alpha Chi Scroll of Honor to outstanding senior woman in advertising; Elizabeth McGuire, Sigma Delta Chi Award to outstanding sophomore reporter, and Bob Henry, School of Journalism scholarship.
- 18. New members of Pe-et, honorary organization for outstanding senior men, are, first row, left to right, John R. Hertzfeld, Howard Hamilton, Eddie Berryman and Kay Burns; Second row are, John Westervelt, Hugh Treadwell, Lewis Salter, Dick O'Shields and Gerald Willoughby.
- 19. Recently named members of Mortar Board are, first row, left to right, Joan Fisher, Ellen Rowe Brillhart, Mary Alice Archer, Martha Meacham and Pat Lance. Second row are Christie Furlow, Genevieve Dale, Dorothy Beegle, Ann Blanton, Audrey Dean, Mary James, and Mary Marks. Third row are Anne Darrough, Edith Gabrish, Joyce Peters and Beverly Ann Smith.











