



Beta Theta Pi

founded at O.U. in 1907

 $\mathcal{G}_{ ext{national}}^{ ext{AMMA PHI of Beta Theta Pi was the third}$ versity of Oklahoma campus. It's charter was granted by the national fraternity on July 26, 1907.

The Oklahoma chapter of Beta was formed through the efforts of Dr. David Ross Boyd, first president of the University; Dr. J. S. Buchanan, later president of the University, and Dr. J. H. Felgar, past dean of the College of Engineering and dean emeritus at the time of his death in 1946. All three of these men were members of the fraternity.

The first house was built in 1909 and was three stories high, providing quarters for around 20 members. It was in this same year that Beta supplied six out of 10 possible managers and publication editors for student activities. This record has been carried down through its history and the latest contribution to University publications was Everett Berry, Wynona senior in law, who was editor of the Sooner Yearbook in 1946. Berry served as president of the local chapter during the second semester of the school year 1947-48.

Traditional highlights of each school year are

the Beta-Kappa Alpha football game known as the Beer Bowl Classic and the fabulous Barn Dance which is always the most looked forward to event on the Beta social calendar.

The present house was built in 1929 by an Oklahoma Beta alumnus, Earl Tankersley, '16-'18, Oklahoma City, and during the summer of 1947, it was redecorated to keep in trend with the new fraternity life which followed World War II.

In 1928 the chapter made the highest scholastic average ever recorded for a fraternity in the history of the University, and for the last fifteen years it has consistently been above the all men's average as compiled by the National Interfraternity Council. In 1938, Beta retained permanent possession of the University Interfraternity Council Scholarship Cup which was awarded for winning top honors three times in a row-1936, 1937, and 1938.

Prominent members of University officialdom include Hal Muldrow, Jr., '28bus, past-president of the University of Oklahoma Association and commanding general of the 45th Division; Lee B. Thompson, '25ba, '27Law, vice-president of the Board of Governors of the Oklahoma Memorial Union and past vice-president of the national fraternity; Jack Luttrell, '38ba, '41Law, Rhodes Scholar and chairman of the Board of Governors of the Oklahoma Memorial Union; John Rogers, '14Law, prominent Tulsa attorney and a member of the State Board of Regents for Higher Education; Earl Sneed, Jr., '34ba, '37Law, associate professor of law at the University and national scholarship chairman of the fraternity, and Walter W. Kraft, professor of general engineering and director of the physical plant at the University.

Other chapter alumni of prominence include Carl H. Milam, '07ba, head librarian for the United Nations; Tom Sterling, '21-'22, president of the Oklahoma Natural Gas Company, Oklahoma City, and W. Dow Hamm, '22ba, prominent Dallas geol-

This year marks Gamma Phi of Beta Theta Pi's 41st year on the O.U. campus and it is striving to keep up the standards it has set in the past for the betterment of Beta Theta Pi and the Greek world as a whole.



Roscoe Cate, '26BA Financial Vice-President

The University of Oklahoma's Vice-Presidents

President George L. Cross is assisted in his administrative duties by two vice-presidents. Carl M. Franklin serves as executive vice-president, and Roscoe Cate, '26ba, as financial vice-president. These titles were created by act of the University board of Regents in October, 1947. In the absence of President Cross, Vice-President Franklin assumes the duties of the president. In the absence of both these administrative officers, Vice-President Cate occupies the president's chair. While in the role of president, either has power to sign payrolls and claims.



CARL M. FRANKLIN

Executive Vice-President