THE COVER PHOTO

GEORGE WRIGHT, our cover subject for this issue, certainly needs no introduction to organ buffs nor, more surprisingly, even to most of the general music-loving public—such is his stature in the music world. In appreciation of his two concert appearances at the 1968 Convention, TOB salutes George Wright with this color cover portrait, taken at the Rialto Theatre console following his concert there. As the lady from the balcony put it that evening, "We love you, George."

-PHOTO: Bill Lamb



Theatre Organ Bombarde

Volume 10, No. 4

'SWAN SONG' - SCHRUM

We have a new chief, and a good one, too. We are sure to expect a continued forward thrust under the leadership of President Al Mason, with the assistance of two outstanding officers: Vice President Richard F. Kline, Jr., as fine a right arm as could be desired; and Sec'y-Treas. Dorothy MacClain, the "Second Time Around" in this office, which speaks for itself. The excellent staff will remain the same with the exception of the new 1st Sgt., Betty Mason, National Secretary. (See masthead for new National Hq. Address.) Congrats, Kids!

The Board of Directors election was an extremely tough one for everyone. The slate of nominees was gratifyingly large, but each nominee was well qualified for the post of National Director. Our hearty congratulations to the new Board members: Fred Kruse, Ben Hall, Lee Erwin, and Dottie MacClain (re-elected). Our heartfelt thanks to all who demonstrated their interest and concern for ATOE by appearing on the ballot.

Congratulations also to the Honorary Member for 1968-69, Dick Simonton, whose name was the only one offered and consequently passed unanimously. Dick's contributions to ATOE have been, to put it mildly, many-fold.

Last, but not least, thanks from everyone to the Los Angeles Chapter, the 1968 Annual Convention host; Dick Simonton, Chapter Chairman, and Bob Carson (Ol' Weary), Convention Chairman. This was an outstanding festival of organ music.

This is the last time that my mug and prose will show up on this page. Marilyn and I wish to thank all of the staff, officers, and Directors, along with the many, many members who have assisted us throughout our two years as National President and Secretary. We have seen a spectacular growth in membership and chapters. Just as important is the surge of interest by the general public in our activities and goals.

It seems obvious to me that there is only one direction in which to move: forward. We must not bog down in an apathetic, introverted state. But moving forward costs money. Our finances have to keep pace with the national economy. Expenses fluctuate from year to year, depending largely upon convention-connected costs. With our present dues structure, the treasury remains at an average even zero. Some stop-gap cut could be made, but not enough to provide for adequate service to the membership and chapters and exploration of new avenues of promotion so vital to our aims. It would be tragic to compromise our excellent publication, Theatre Organ Bombarde, which is our only concrete representative. ATOE has gone through infancy and adolescence and, despite being in its teens, is now facing maturity. Let's all support our new officers and GO!

It has been a great two years. Thanks.



Dick Shum

Dick Schrum, President

A. T. O. E. National Membership is \$7.00 per year, which includes a subscription to THEATRE ORGAN BOMBARDE, the official publication of the American Theatre Organ Enthusiasts. Single copies: \$1.25. Make check or money order payable to A. T. O. E., and mail to P. O. Box 2329, Livonia, Mich. 48150.

ALL MATERIAL FOR PUBLICATION
EXCEPT ADVERTISING
SHOULD BE SENT TO A.T.O.E. PUBLICATIONS
P. O. BOX 7404, BITTER LAKE STATION
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98133

ADVERTISING ADDRESS: Dewey Cagle, 3291 Guido St., Oakland, California 94602.

A.T.O.E. National Officers
Albert T. Mason, President
Richard F. Kline, Jr., Vice President
Betty Mason, Secretary
Dorothy MacClain, Secretary-Treasurer

A.T.O.E. National Board of Directors
Lee Erwin
W. "Tiny" James
Richard F. Kline, Jr.
Frederick J. Kruse
Ben M. Hall
Dorothy J. MacClain
Allen W. Rossiter

Richard H. Schrum, Honorary

A.T. O. E. Honorary Members

1959 — Jesse Crawford 1960 — Farny Wurlitzer 1961 — Mel Doner

Erwin A. Young, Jr.

1962 — Leonard MacClain 1963 — Eddie Dunstedter

1964 — Reginald Foort 1965 — Dan Barton

1966 — W. "Tiny" James

1967 — Erwin A. Young Jr. 1968 — Richard C. Simonton

EDITORIAL STAFF

Publications Director—Tom Kaasa Advertising Manager—Dewey Cagle Circulation Manager—Vi Thompson

THEATRE ORGAN BOMBARDE

Editor — George Thompson

Associate Editors — Ray Brubacher Lloyd Klos Peg Nielsen

Editor-Emeritus—W. "Stu" Green

THEATRE ORGAN BOMBARDE (title registered U, S. Patent Office) is published bi-monthly by the American Theatre Organ Enthusiasts, Inc., a non-profit organization, Albert T. Mason, President. All rights reserved. Entire contents copyrighted 1968 by A. T. O. E., Inc. Office of publication is P. O. Box 7404, Bitter Lake Station, Seartle, Washington 98133. Printed by University Printing Co., Seattle.

POSTMASTER: Second Class postage paid at Seattle, Washington. IF UNDELIVERABLE, send form 3579 to A.T.O.E. Circulation Dept., Box 1314, Salinas, Calif. 93901