## HALL OF FAME

Mildred Alexander Lowell C. Ayars Donald H. Baker Stuart Barrie Dessa Byrd Paul Carson Gaylord B. Carter Milton Charles Edwin L. "Buddy" Cole Bernie Cowham Helen A. Crawford Jesse J. Crawford Francis J. Cronin William R. Dalton Lloyd G. del Castillo Reginald Dixon Edward J. Dunstedter Lee O. Erwin, Jr.

Francis "Gus" Farney Frederick Feibel Mildred M. Fitzpatrick Reginald Foort Paul H. Forster Dean L. Fossler John Gart Irma Glen Betty Gould Thomas Grierson Arthur Gutow John F. Hammond Elwell "Eddie" Hanson W. "Tiny" James Henri A. Keates Frederick Kinsley Rex Koury Sigmund Krumgold Edith Lang

Ambrose Larsen Ann Leaf Richard W. Leibert Leonard MacClain Quentin Maclean Roderick H. "Sandy" Macpherson Albert Hav Malotte Dr. Melchiore Mauro-Cottone Kay McAbee Alfred M. Melgard Ashlev Miller F. Donald Miller Charles Sharpe Minor John T. Muri Henry B. Murtagh Dr. Milton Page Henry Francis Parks Dr. C. A. J. Parmentier Alexander Richardson

Rosa Rio Edna S. Sellers Preston H. Sellers, Jr. **Gerald Shaw** Raymond G. Shelley Arsene Siegel Milton Slosser Käthleen O. Stokes Firmin Swinnen Sidney Torch Emil Velazco Deszo Von D'Antalffy G. Oliver Wallace Thomas "Fats" Waller Jack Ward Edward J. Weaver Lew White Jean Wiener George Wright

# ATOS AWARDS — 1985

### HALL OF FAME ORGANISTS

Irma Glen began her musical career at the age of 12 when she conducted an orchestra of 12 men on a Chicago theatre stage. Two years later she toured Europe and South America with an organized girl's orchestra. When she returned to Chicago she learned that the real demand was for organists, not pianists. She studied organ and soon became a featured organist at one of the large Chicago theatres. From this position she became a staff organist of radio station WENR. In time, WENR was to become a part of the large NBC network and Miss Glen was to gain fame nationally. She was probably one of the few theatre organists in history who was so

well-liked that in the late '20s she was sponsored by a wealthy "Lady Bountiful" whose wish was to remain anonymous and was known only to Miss Glen. Her secret sponsor paid for a weekly 15-minute program for two years. The title of the broadcast was "Irma Glen and Her Lovable Music," and the theme was a tune entitled "Lovable." Later, in addition to her solo organ programs, Irma was to play the dramatic part of Betty in a broadcast which was the first of its kind, "The Smith Family." In this program Irma also doubled at the organ to furnish the musical bridges between scenes. Miss Glen was a graduate of Chicago's American Conservatory of Music and taught there in 1933. In later years she moved to California where she composed music, played the organ, wrote

and lectured and sometimes traveled. She died December 15, 1982.

Kay McAbee is one of the most active performing theatre organists in the Chicago area. He has played for almost every imaginable function from dedicatory organ recitals to national political conventions. Beginning as Staff Organist for the W. W. Kimball Company in 1951, he toured extensively for Kimball and for the Conn company. He also served as organist for many prominent Chicago churches. In 1952 he played his first theatre pipe organ, the 3/14 Wurlitzer in the Aurora, Illinois, Paramount. He went on to play theatre organ concerts around the country in addition to night club, television, radio and re-

### ATOS HONORARY MEMBERS

1959 - Jesse Crawford 1973 - Al and Betty Mason 1960 - Farny Wurlitzer 1974 - Lloyd E. Klos 1961 - Mel Doner 1975 - Joe Patten 1962 - Leonard MacClain 1976 — Floyd and Doris Mumm 1963 - Eddie Dunstedter 1977 - Les and Edith Rawle 1964 - Reginald Foort 1978 - Len Clarke 1965 - Dan Barton 1979 - J. B. Nethercutt 1966 - W. "Tiny" James 1980 - Sidney Torch 1967 - Erwin A. Young 1981 - No selection made 1968 - Richard C. Simonton 1982 - Lloyd G. del Castillo 1969 - Judd Walton 1983 - Marian Miner Cook 1970 - Bill Lamb 1984 - William P. Brown 1971 - George & Vi Thompson 1985 - Preston M. "Sandy" Fleet 1972 - Stu Green

### ATOS PAST PRESIDENTS

Richard Simonton February 1955-October 1958	
Judd WaltonOctober 1958-July 1961	
Tiny James July 1961-July 1964	
Carl Norvell July 1964-July 1966	
Dick SchrumJuly 1966-July 1968	
Al Mason July 1968-July 1970	
Stillman RiceJuly 1970-July 1972	
Erwin A. Young July 1972-July 1974	
Paul M. Abernethy July 1974-July 1976	
Ray F. SnitilJuly 1976-July 1978	
Preston M. Fleet July 1978-November 1978	
Tommy Landrum November 1978-July 1980	
Richard R. HaightJuly 1980-June 1981	
Lois F. SegurJuly 1981-July 1983	
Rex KouryJuly 1983-August 1985	