

A.T.O.E. Membership - \$5.00 per year includes subscription to THEATRE ORGAN. Make your check or Money Order Payable to A.T.O.E. and mail to P. O. Box 248, Alameda, California.

A.T.O.E. HONORARY MEMBERS

- 1959 Jesse Crawford
- 1960 Farny Wurlitzer 1961 Mel Doner
- 1962 Leonard MacClain

1963 Eddie Dunstedter

EDITOR Tom B'Hend Associate Editor . . . George Thompson

STAFF FOR A.T.O.E.

PRESIDENT. W. 'Tiny' James Vice President Erwin A. Young Secretary Mrs. Ida James Advertising Manager Dewey Cagle

THEATRE ORGAN is a quarterly publication devoted to the interests of theatre organ enthusiasts, and to publishing of official notes and proceedings of the American Association of Theatre Organ Enthusiasts. All communications and material should be sent to THEATRE ORGAN, P. O. Box 248, Alameda, California. Inquiries and all materials intended for A.T.O.E. should be directed to the above address and will be correctly routed to the proper office.,

THEATRE ORGAN (title registered U.S. Patent Office) is published by the American Association of Theatre Organ Enthusiasts, President W. Tinyt James, 2834 Santa Clara St., Alameda, California, All rights reserved. Entire contents copyright 1963 by A.T.O.E., Incorporated.

POSTMASTER: If undeliverable, send Form 3579 to THEATRE ORGAN, P.O. Box 248, Alameda, California. RETURN REQUESTED. Second Class Permit paid at Alameda, California.

IF YOU WANT TO RECEIVE 'THEATRE ORGAN'

Please keep us advised of your correct address. The Post Office DOES NOT forward Second Class Mail.

Hover.

In the glow from one of the magnificent stage candelabrum, Horace Weber is shown seated at the console of the beautiful 3m/15r WurliTzer in Melbourne's doomed Capitol Theatre. The scene, taken from the dress circle during the final recital last November 17th, serves to introduce the featured article in this issue, starting on page twelve. Written by Eric Wicks, a former pupil of Weber and now a newspaperman, the feature will be presented in two parts - this issue being devoted to the life of the organist; the next will describe the theatre, the organ and its removal by the Victorian Division of the Theatre Organ Society of Australia.

Already a nostalgic remembrance of a golden era, this photo also signals the termination of a long friendship, or, if you will, a devotion of an artist to an outstanding instrument. It is a fitting tribute by TOSA to a superb organist, a wonderful WurliTzer, and a truly dramatic, theatrical closing of a great theatre.

Chapter Directory

CHICAGO AREA CHAPTER Chairman - Dr. Rodney P. Elliott 3101 South Wabash Avenue Chicago, Illinois 60616

Secretary - George C. Johnston 130 North Third Avenue Villa Park, Illinois 60181

CONNECTICUT VALLEY CHAPTER

Chairman – Everett Bassett 213 Homestead Avenue Waterbury, Conn. 06701

Secretary - Judy Derby 109 Layton Street West Hartford, Conn. 06110

DELAWARE VALLEY CHAPTER

Chairman - John Armstrong, Jr. Mechanicsville, Pa.

Secretary - Laura T. Fesmire 2411 Huntingdon Pike Huntingdon Valley, Pa.

EASTERN MASSACHUSETTS

Chairman - Jim Rankin 73 Grand Street Reading, Massachusetts

Secretary – Elbert J. Drazy 6 Amherst Road Andover, Massachusetts

LAND O'LAKES CHAPTER

Chairman - Ed Barowiec 224 S. 5th Street Delano, Minnesota

Secretary – Burt Frank 820 Hoyt Avenue W. St. Paul, Minnesota

LOS ANGELES CHAPTER

Chairman - Jack Shemick 4311 Stewart Avenue Los Angeles, California

Secretary - Miss Constance Brenner 8551-3/4 Holloway Drive Hollywood 69, California

NEW YORK CHAPTER Chairman - James Dougherty 314 East 196 Street

Bronx, New York

Secretary - Mary Dougherty

NIAGARA FRONTIER CHAPTER

Chairman - Grant Whitcomb 19 Church Street East Aurora, New York

Secretary – Laura Thomas 3534 Bowen Road Lancaster, New York

NORTHERN CALIFORNIA CHAPTER

Chairman - Fred Clapp 5610 Castle Drive Oakland, California

Secretary - Gordon Walker 4678 Belfast Avenue Oakland, California

OHIO VALLEY CHAPTER

Chairman - Glenn E. Merriam 548 Terrace Avenue Cincinnati 20, Ohio

Secretary - Mrs. Glen E. Merriam

OREGON CHAPTER

Chairman - Ted Marks 706 N. E. 165th Avenue Portland, Oregon

Secretary - Bill Peterson 2708 N. Portland Blvd., Apt. 2 Portland, Oregon

PIEDMONT CHAPTER

Chairman – Paul M. Abernathy, M.D. 1610 Vaughn Road Burlington, N.C.

Secretary - Edwin G. Baldwin 2711 Bedford Street Burlington, N.C.

POTOMAC VALLEY CHAPTER

Chairman - Ray Brubacher 1706 Mayhew Drive Silver Spring, Maryland

Secretary - Woody Wise 3701 Eaton Place Alexandria, Virginia

PUGET SOUND CHAPTER

Chairman – Dick Schrum 12258 Twelfth Street NW Seattle, Washington 98177

Secretary - Roger Johnson 29015 Thirty-Ninth South Auburn, Washington

SOUTHEASTERN CHAPTER

Chairman – Carl Norvell Rt. 3, Box 249 Griffin, Georgia

Secretary – Bob Hill Shurlington Plaza Macon, Georgia

ST. LOUIS AREA CHAPTER

Chairman – Fred Pillsbury 680 South McKnight Road St. Louis, Missouri 63124

Secretary – Walter Brummer 2310 Delmar Street Granite City, Illinois

VALLEY OF THE SUN CHAPTER

Chairman - Al Comtois 3508 West McClellan Blvd. Phoenix, Arizona

Secretary - Edna E. Hunnicutt 3026 East Garfield Street Phoenix, Arizona